Vanilla Wafer Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
First of all you need to make this cake exactly as written. I put the cookies in a large baggie and used my rolling pin to crush them. Easy peasy. Dense and moist. Keeps well. On another site it suggested melting a little butter in your frying pan and frying a slice on both sides. Next time I make it I'm going to use my oblong bundt and try that. Sounds like it would be really good with a bit of crushed strawberries and whipped cream on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmatheson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelley, Idaho, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Excellent cake, I reduced sugar to 1 3/4 cup since my coconut was sweetened. I did not add the nuts as we don't care for them. The only problem was the cake does not come out of the bundt pan even though I used crisco and flour. Next time i will bake in a 9x13. The cake was even better on day two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Delicious! The family ate it all in one evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Really good flavor. I didn't grease the bunt pan good enough and had a hard time getting it. Other than that is a great dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Loveall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
This is a very rich, dense cake with lots of flavor. I make a homemade caramel glaze and pour over it straight out of the oven. I have received nothing but rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kings Mountain, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Good flavor but stuck in bundt pan. Looked awful so I'm scrambling to find a glaze.... I greased and floured my pan as generously as i knew how. Booo....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
This is DELICIOUS!! Made it to share with older people. My Mom wants to know when I will make it again. My boss (who is a former caterer) thinks it is delicious, but wonders what it would taste like with chopped cherries. My little 89 yr old blind friend immediately wanted another slice. Took a slice to my brothers shop and he hid it so he wouldn't have to share with his employees. I didn't think about them but did take them some. Got a phone call asking me to make another. :). So, with that said, I might try it again and put cherries and black walnuts in it. I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
I used 3/4 cup butter & 11/2 cups sugar..didn't have vanilla wafers so used ginger snaps threw in some raisins with the coconut & nuts. What a great cake. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
I made this exact recipe into a 3 layer 10x10 cake and it was awesome! I frosted it with cream cheese frosting and it was the perfect combination. I also lowered the cooking time to 60 min since it was a much flatter cake. Everyone was licking their fingers! The second time I made it I made it in a bundt pan, added a teaspoon of vanilla extract and used 1 cup of flaked coconut. I cooked it fo3 an hr and a half at 275 degrees and it was the most amazing cake EVER!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dromero52512

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
This was a very easy cake to make. My husband loved it. Very sweet and dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Caterpillar Cake

Make a fun caterpillar cake using just an everyday bundt cake pan!

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States