Vanilla Wafer Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
First of all you need to make this cake exactly as written. I put the cookies in a large baggie and used my rolling pin to crush them. Easy peasy. Dense and moist. Keeps well. On another site it suggested melting a little butter in your frying pan and frying a slice on both sides. Next time I make it I'm going to use my oblong bundt and try that. Sounds like it would be really good with a bit of crushed strawberries and whipped cream on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmatheson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelley, Idaho, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Excellent cake, I reduced sugar to 1 3/4 cup since my coconut was sweetened. I did not add the nuts as we don't care for them. The only problem was the cake does not come out of the bundt pan even though I used crisco and flour. Next time i will bake in a 9x13. The cake was even better on day two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Delicious! The family ate it all in one evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Really good flavor. I didn't grease the bunt pan good enough and had a hard time getting it. Other than that is a great dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Loveall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
This is a very rich, dense cake with lots of flavor. I make a homemade caramel glaze and pour over it straight out of the oven. I have received nothing but rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kings Mountain, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Good flavor but stuck in bundt pan. Looked awful so I'm scrambling to find a glaze.... I greased and floured my pan as generously as i knew how. Booo....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
This is DELICIOUS!! Made it to share with older people. My Mom wants to know when I will make it again. My boss (who is a former caterer) thinks it is delicious, but wonders what it would taste like with chopped cherries. My little 89 yr old blind friend immediately wanted another slice. Took a slice to my brothers shop and he hid it so he wouldn't have to share with his employees. I didn't think about them but did take them some. Got a phone call asking me to make another. :). So, with that said, I might try it again and put cherries and black walnuts in it. I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
I used 3/4 cup butter & 11/2 cups sugar..didn't have vanilla wafers so used ginger snaps threw in some raisins with the coconut & nuts. What a great cake. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
I made this exact recipe into a 3 layer 10x10 cake and it was awesome! I frosted it with cream cheese frosting and it was the perfect combination. I also lowered the cooking time to 60 min since it was a much flatter cake. Everyone was licking their fingers! The second time I made it I made it in a bundt pan, added a teaspoon of vanilla extract and used 1 cup of flaked coconut. I cooked it fo3 an hr and a half at 275 degrees and it was the most amazing cake EVER!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dromero52512

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
This was a very easy cake to make. My husband loved it. Very sweet and dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Caterpillar Cake

Make a fun caterpillar cake using just an everyday bundt cake pan!

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States