Vanilla Spice Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
I took the submitter's advice and used all milk and used AP flour. I made this by hand with my Kitchen Aid mixer. I proofed the yeast in my mixer bowl with the warmed milk and sugars for ten minutes until it "bloomed", added the remaining wet ingredients, then all the dry. I kneaded the dough with my hook for about five minutes, then set it to rise in a covered, greased bowl on my warm oven for about an hour. Once it doubled, I formed it into a loaf and let it double again in a covered, greased loaf pan on my warm oven. Thirty minutes in a 350* oven and we were good to go. I made myself wait until the next morning and I made french toast with it. OFF THE HOOK. We used the Absolute Best Pancake Syrup over the top of it and it really sang. Super easy bread and way flavorful. Not difficult to make at all. I'd really like to try this with whole wheat flour and see how it is.....maybe even a cinnamon swirl in the middle?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
YUMMY! I went ahead and just baked it in the bread machine because, well, I am lazy :D I did make a few changes, but they weren't major. I only had light brown sugar, so I used that instead of dark (though I do want to try it with the dark at some point!). I used unsweetened applesauce instead of the oil. My vanilla extract is a double-strength one, but I still used the full 1.5 teaspoons. I had fresh ground coriander from last year's garden, so that was really nice. It smelled DIVINE as it was baking! I used bread flour, and while it was kneading, it seemed a bit on the sticky side, so I threw in a little bit of whole wheat flour (probably about 1/8 cup at most). GREAT texture, very slightly chewy (in a good way), rose and baked up nicely in the machine. We had it toasted for breakfast this morning. Will definitely be making this again, and will try it with dark brown sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fyoosh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diane
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
I made this bread by hand. I omitted the white sugar and added 3 T honey. I used all milk, light brown sugar and all purpose flour. To knead the dough I had to add an additional 1/2 cup of flour because it was too sticky. Make sure you grease the bread pan very well before putting it in the oven! Husband LOVED it :) Also make sure you get some because it won't last long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Made this recipe last night and it is fantastic! I used cinnamon instead of coriander and let it bake in the bread machine and it came out perfect! I know this bread will be gone by the end of today! Note: If you use a bread machine to bake it, this is a 1-1/2 pound loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wren

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
This bread was so warm and comforting. I flavor of the vanilla and spices were very subtle, but really made a huge impact. I used soy milk instead of real milk because my husband is allergic to dairy and it was still moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Delicious! I love love love the subtle spiced flavor of this recipe and the texture was lovely. I was concerned about not having any dark brown sugar, so I added a teaspoon of molasses to my light brown. I also only ever use all purpose flour for breads, so I added some vital gluten as well. Otherwise I followed the recipe as written and was so happy with the outcome. We had it lightly toasted with a bit of Cinnamon Cocoa Spread from this site, and I can't wait to try it as french toast. It should be amazing. Thanks so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
WOW! Great bread. I did increase some spices - cardamom to 1/4 teaspoon and coriander to almost 1/2 teaspoon. This bread makes wonderful french toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barnesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Shadyside, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
i love cardamom and vanilla, but i had never tried coriander in a sweet recipe. the use of it in this recipe really interested me, and i was really glad i tried it! this bread is delicious. although it bakes as a loaf and looks similar to white bread, it has a relatively firm crumb, which i was happy about - i made it to use in a french toast casserole i'm making. i can't wait to see how the french toast casserole turns out, i think the flavors of this bread will really make it shine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chikalin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Englewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
This was good bread. I followed it exactly and my dough was way way too sticky, so I added 1/2 cup more flour. It was still pretty sticky but I thought this was how the submitter intended it to be. The bread didnt turn out real well but had a great flavor. I will make this again to see if maybe I messed something up. If not, then it definitly needs more flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darthotto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Amazingly good. Very moist and tender. Used cinnamon instead of coriander. Would be fabulous toast if I could stop eating it before toasting! 13 year old son told me he wished I had made 2 loaves as "this won't last long."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States