Vanilla Spice Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Bread was good, but not by itself. It tasted really good as french toast like other bakers said. I'm sure it would be good with PB and J.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie P

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hayes, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
This bread was so warm and comforting. I flavor of the vanilla and spices were very subtle, but really made a huge impact. I used soy milk instead of real milk because my husband is allergic to dairy and it was still moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
This bread is Yummy! I followed the directions exactly except for using bread flour and 1/4 cup vital wheat gluten. It rose beautifully and had a great texture. Sweet, but not toooo sweet. My family ate the entire loaf in one sitting. The Steakhouse bread remains my favorite recipe so far, but this is a close second. Look forward to making this often. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
WOW! Great bread. I did increase some spices - cardamom to 1/4 teaspoon and coriander to almost 1/2 teaspoon. This bread makes wonderful french toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barnesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Shadyside, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Delicious! Such a tasty and unusual bread. I can see why this has won prizes! I didn't have any cardamom or coriander, so I just substituted cinnamon. Next time, I will see if I can get some. I also used white whole wheat flour with added vital wheat gluten and I let it go the whole way in my bread machine on the basic setting. It was perfect! Rose beautifully, browned beautifully and it was slightly sweet and smelled heavenly. Delicious with just peanut butter. My daughter had her first taste of peanut butter on this bread! The only thing I noticed was that I needed to add a significant amount of extra flour to the recipe. Maybe I didn't measure my liquids accurately. After all, my toddler was helping me measure. Will make it again and again as a fun change up from our regular whole wheat bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Made this recipe last night and it is fantastic! I used cinnamon instead of coriander and let it bake in the bread machine and it came out perfect! I know this bread will be gone by the end of today! Note: If you use a bread machine to bake it, this is a 1-1/2 pound loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wren

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
My daughter used this recipe for the local and county fair and took 1st place each time. She is now qualified for the state fair next weekend! Have yet to have anyone tell me they don't like it. I have also made the recipe without the spices and it was wonderful! Just a quick update, my daughter got 4th place at the state fair with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
delicious family loved it. Also used this recipe to make leftover turkey dinner calzones that my family went crazy over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
Very good. I made the vanilla spice first. My husband loved the consistency and told me I should make a plain loaf out of it, and so I did. I left out the vanilla, brown sugar, cardamom, and coriander plus used about 1/4 cup of sugar (instead of 2 tbsp). It came out great as a regular loaf for sandwiches. Airy and slightly chewy texture. Most loaves I have had a problem with being too crumbly for sandwiches, so this was a great recipe to come across.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikig

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
WOW!! So good. I made it with a kitchenaid mixer, following the directions of another reviewer. I have two small children who also love the bread - especially good with peanut butter and jelly!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States