Vanilla Spice Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
I took the submitter's advice and used all milk and used AP flour. I made this by hand with my Kitchen Aid mixer. I proofed the yeast in my mixer bowl with the warmed milk and sugars for ten minutes until it "bloomed", added the remaining wet ingredients, then all the dry. I kneaded the dough with my hook for about five minutes, then set it to rise in a covered, greased bowl on my warm oven for about an hour. Once it doubled, I formed it into a loaf and let it double again in a covered, greased loaf pan on my warm oven. Thirty minutes in a 350* oven and we were good to go. I made myself wait until the next morning and I made french toast with it. OFF THE HOOK. We used the Absolute Best Pancake Syrup over the top of it and it really sang. Super easy bread and way flavorful. Not difficult to make at all. I'd really like to try this with whole wheat flour and see how it is.....maybe even a cinnamon swirl in the middle?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
YUMMY! I went ahead and just baked it in the bread machine because, well, I am lazy :D I did make a few changes, but they weren't major. I only had light brown sugar, so I used that instead of dark (though I do want to try it with the dark at some point!). I used unsweetened applesauce instead of the oil. My vanilla extract is a double-strength one, but I still used the full 1.5 teaspoons. I had fresh ground coriander from last year's garden, so that was really nice. It smelled DIVINE as it was baking! I used bread flour, and while it was kneading, it seemed a bit on the sticky side, so I threw in a little bit of whole wheat flour (probably about 1/8 cup at most). GREAT texture, very slightly chewy (in a good way), rose and baked up nicely in the machine. We had it toasted for breakfast this morning. Will definitely be making this again, and will try it with dark brown sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fyoosh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diane
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
I made this bread by hand. I omitted the white sugar and added 3 T honey. I used all milk, light brown sugar and all purpose flour. To knead the dough I had to add an additional 1/2 cup of flour because it was too sticky. Make sure you grease the bread pan very well before putting it in the oven! Husband LOVED it :) Also make sure you get some because it won't last long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
WOW!! So good. I made it with a kitchenaid mixer, following the directions of another reviewer. I have two small children who also love the bread - especially good with peanut butter and jelly!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
Very good. I made the vanilla spice first. My husband loved the consistency and told me I should make a plain loaf out of it, and so I did. I left out the vanilla, brown sugar, cardamom, and coriander plus used about 1/4 cup of sugar (instead of 2 tbsp). It came out great as a regular loaf for sandwiches. Airy and slightly chewy texture. Most loaves I have had a problem with being too crumbly for sandwiches, so this was a great recipe to come across.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikig

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
delicious family loved it. Also used this recipe to make leftover turkey dinner calzones that my family went crazy over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
My daughter used this recipe for the local and county fair and took 1st place each time. She is now qualified for the state fair next weekend! Have yet to have anyone tell me they don't like it. I have also made the recipe without the spices and it was wonderful! Just a quick update, my daughter got 4th place at the state fair with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Made this recipe last night and it is fantastic! I used cinnamon instead of coriander and let it bake in the bread machine and it came out perfect! I know this bread will be gone by the end of today! Note: If you use a bread machine to bake it, this is a 1-1/2 pound loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wren

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Delicious! Such a tasty and unusual bread. I can see why this has won prizes! I didn't have any cardamom or coriander, so I just substituted cinnamon. Next time, I will see if I can get some. I also used white whole wheat flour with added vital wheat gluten and I let it go the whole way in my bread machine on the basic setting. It was perfect! Rose beautifully, browned beautifully and it was slightly sweet and smelled heavenly. Delicious with just peanut butter. My daughter had her first taste of peanut butter on this bread! The only thing I noticed was that I needed to add a significant amount of extra flour to the recipe. Maybe I didn't measure my liquids accurately. After all, my toddler was helping me measure. Will make it again and again as a fun change up from our regular whole wheat bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
WOW! Great bread. I did increase some spices - cardamom to 1/4 teaspoon and coriander to almost 1/2 teaspoon. This bread makes wonderful french toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barnesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Shadyside, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States