Vanilla Slice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
I've made this 3 times now, everyone asks me to make it for bbq's and picnics now. I found a way to make icing it easier without all the flakes getting stuck in your icing, you have to place the flat base facing upwards and the layers flatten out making icing easy. Thanks, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelly Bunch
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2006
My partner absolutely LURVES this recipe, he says he refuses to take it to work now as a snack because he never ends up with any for himself. When cooking the puff pastry in the oven it blows up like a balloon! Don't be afraid to push it flat immediately after it is cooked to let the hot air out of it. Good Luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Bunch

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
I used instant vanilla pudding and it turned out great. I would recommend using all the puff pastry (not 1/2 like other reviewers) and putting it in a 11x7 pan. I would also double the frosting. It was delicious - exactly like the vanilla slices I used to get in England! So glad to have found this recipe - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARACOOKS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2005
Kind of like a giant napoleon pastry. Add a drizzle of chocolate glaze on top of the icing for a little more visual appeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
When I make this I use custard powder and Sao biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jasi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hobart, Tasmania, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
My puff pastry puffed up very large making this just awkard... i am sure this may have been good had the pastry not been so puffed. i dont think i will amke this again unless ther is any way to not make the pastry so puffed. if anyone has any advice please leave it in your review and i will come back to check on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
Being from England originally I was so excited to see this recipe, I just had to make it. My husband being american had never tried it. The pastry turned out great, although I had to triple the icing to cover the top, as in my local towns pastry shop in UK, I sprinkled coloured suger on the top of the icing. The custard was very thick when I popped it into the refrigerator, I left it there for 2 hours before serving, did I leave it in too long? The custard was sooo runny, very disappointing. I will be looking for a new Vanilla Slice recipe to try and compare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GraceDenver

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hull, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
Hurrah! My favourite Aussie treat! Very very good & authentic. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCOUT100

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Moody, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
I followed this receipt to a tee, and my filling was completely watery. I thought that maybe it would set up in the refrigerator, but after 5 hours, it did not, so I tipped it all out. I think I will try this with just instant vanilla custard / pudding mix, and then layer it with the puff pastry. The icing came out well though !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
this recipe was great and the vanilla slice filling also works wonderfully as a custard tart filling....just pour into premade tart shells...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States