Vanilla Slice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by titten1
Reviewed: May 14, 2014
This is a fantastic pudding very much like English custard tart. Had no problems with the recipe. Everyone loved it. All 4 children and my husband too.I left off the icing topping as I thought it was sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Great desert! Very easy and fast to put together, especially if you use INSTANT vanilla pudding and follow the instructions for "PIE filling", not the ones for pudding. Also, cut the pastry sheets BEFORE you bake them. This way, you just have to split them horizontally after they puff and fill them with the cream. Or, if you have the puff pastry SHELLS, just bake them, pop the tops while still warm, then cool and fill them with vanilla cream, fresh fruits and a dollop of whipped cream. I never use frosting, just a sprinkle of confectioner sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
Being from England originally I was so excited to see this recipe, I just had to make it. My husband being american had never tried it. The pastry turned out great, although I had to triple the icing to cover the top, as in my local towns pastry shop in UK, I sprinkled coloured suger on the top of the icing. The custard was very thick when I popped it into the refrigerator, I left it there for 2 hours before serving, did I leave it in too long? The custard was sooo runny, very disappointing. I will be looking for a new Vanilla Slice recipe to try and compare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GraceDenver

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hull, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
I followed this receipt to a tee, and my filling was completely watery. I thought that maybe it would set up in the refrigerator, but after 5 hours, it did not, so I tipped it all out. I think I will try this with just instant vanilla custard / pudding mix, and then layer it with the puff pastry. The icing came out well though !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
Very easy to follow this recipe. Everyone at work enjoyed it. I would double the amount of vanilla next time and for those that don't like custard all tha much (like me), I would make half the amount of custard. So the filling is not so thick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Biscotti Bliss

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
Try it with passion fruit in the icing - authentic Aussie vanilla slice then, and looks good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
My husband and his family are from Wales and this recipe is just like a bite of home for them. They're disappointed if I don't bring them to every family function! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
this was so easy and delicious my kids just love it, thanks for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
This was fantastic, definately a do again recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
When I make this I use custard powder and Sao biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jasi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hobart, Tasmania, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States