Vanilla Slice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
Hurrah! My favourite Aussie treat! Very very good & authentic. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCOUT100

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Moody, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
I've made this 3 times now, everyone asks me to make it for bbq's and picnics now. I found a way to make icing it easier without all the flakes getting stuck in your icing, you have to place the flat base facing upwards and the layers flatten out making icing easy. Thanks, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
I used instant vanilla pudding and it turned out great. I would recommend using all the puff pastry (not 1/2 like other reviewers) and putting it in a 11x7 pan. I would also double the frosting. It was delicious - exactly like the vanilla slices I used to get in England! So glad to have found this recipe - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARACOOKS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
Wonderful - just like mother used to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
This was fantastic, definately a do again recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelly Bunch
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2006
My partner absolutely LURVES this recipe, he says he refuses to take it to work now as a snack because he never ends up with any for himself. When cooking the puff pastry in the oven it blows up like a balloon! Don't be afraid to push it flat immediately after it is cooked to let the hot air out of it. Good Luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Bunch

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
this was so easy and delicious my kids just love it, thanks for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
My husband and his family are from Wales and this recipe is just like a bite of home for them. They're disappointed if I don't bring them to every family function! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
Try it with passion fruit in the icing - authentic Aussie vanilla slice then, and looks good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Great desert! Very easy and fast to put together, especially if you use INSTANT vanilla pudding and follow the instructions for "PIE filling", not the ones for pudding. Also, cut the pastry sheets BEFORE you bake them. This way, you just have to split them horizontally after they puff and fill them with the cream. Or, if you have the puff pastry SHELLS, just bake them, pop the tops while still warm, then cool and fill them with vanilla cream, fresh fruits and a dollop of whipped cream. I never use frosting, just a sprinkle of confectioner sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States