Vanilla Slice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
When I make this I use custard powder and Sao biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jasi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hobart, Tasmania, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
this recipe was great and the vanilla slice filling also works wonderfully as a custard tart filling....just pour into premade tart shells...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
I used instant vanilla pudding and it turned out great. I would recommend using all the puff pastry (not 1/2 like other reviewers) and putting it in a 11x7 pan. I would also double the frosting. It was delicious - exactly like the vanilla slices I used to get in England! So glad to have found this recipe - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARACOOKS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
It would have been really good except the mixture came out watery. It tasted amazing but it wasn't in tact.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
I didn't know what custard powder was...so I looked online and they said you can substitute instant vanilla pudding for the custard powder, so that's what I did. I thought it would be weird because you don't normally cook instant pudding. Anyway, it turned out just fine because I think it's made of about the same ingredients. This dessert tastes like a custard cream puff. It's very tasty but it's hard to cut. I served it with a raspberry sauce and that made it awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYJOLLY
Home Town: Bluewater, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2007
Wonderful - just like mother used to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
Hurrah! My favourite Aussie treat! Very very good & authentic. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCOUT100

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Moody, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
I've made this 3 times now, everyone asks me to make it for bbq's and picnics now. I found a way to make icing it easier without all the flakes getting stuck in your icing, you have to place the flat base facing upwards and the layers flatten out making icing easy. Thanks, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
My puff pastry puffed up very large making this just awkard... i am sure this may have been good had the pastry not been so puffed. i dont think i will amke this again unless ther is any way to not make the pastry so puffed. if anyone has any advice please leave it in your review and i will come back to check on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelly Bunch
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2006
My partner absolutely LURVES this recipe, he says he refuses to take it to work now as a snack because he never ends up with any for himself. When cooking the puff pastry in the oven it blows up like a balloon! Don't be afraid to push it flat immediately after it is cooked to let the hot air out of it. Good Luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Bunch

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States