Vanilla Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2003
I used this recipe for the topping of an 8x8 pan of bread pudding. I used only 1 cup of water and 2 tablespoons of corstarch to amke it thicker. In the end it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
Perfect over recipe for Bread Pudding II submitted by Ellen Warfield! I took the advice of another review and changed it to two TBSP cornstarch to 1 cup water. Served warm. It was the perfect consistency!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luna

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
Good start, but needs work. Definitely reduce the water to 1 cup and add another tablespoon cornstarch. Very good with these changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
I'm glad I read the review before attempting this recipe. I did like the others and used 1 cup of water and 2 tbsp. of cornstarch. It came out pretty good. I used it over Bread Pudding II from this site. I might try adding a little whiskey to this to see what happens to the flavor next time.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2005
Keep the ingredients the same , except add an additional 1 tbsp cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2002
I also got a very watery syrup that would not thicken up, but I think the problem is that the submitter put in her recipe to use white sugar meaning confectioner sugar not regular granulated sugar, though when a normal recipe calls for white sugar it is usually means regular sugar so thats what I used. I figured I would try it again with the powdered sugar and see if that comes out better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
I made the changes suggested by other reviewers: used half the water, twice the cornstarch, confectioner's sugar. I also added half a cup of evaporated milk when I added the butter and vanilla. Not only very good on the bread pudding I made it for, but good cold the next day with store-bought molasses cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARGARET CARR

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
i was looking for a quick and easy vanilla sauce to go with a jewish apple cake i made, and this was quick, easy, and delicious! its a little more carmel than vanilla, but carmel and apple go well together. i did reduce the water to 1 cup and increase the cornstarch to 2 tablespoons and it turned out perfectly. this would also be fabulous with bread pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Why are people giving this 4 stars and then saying the quantities are all wrong and you should use powdered sugar? That's like giving a 4 star review to your cruise on the titanic. "Everything was just lovely, marred oh so slightly by that incident with the iceberg". This recipe is just plain wrong and if you make it you'll end up with a pan of water. If you change it as others suggest, it will be better, but still didn't have enough flavor or richness. Abandon ship and look elsewhere for your vanilla sauce advice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Without reading other reviews, I followed the recipe to a T, and I have to say that as written it is a watered-down goopy mess of a sauce. The term "white sugar" is extremely vague and I took it to mean granulated sugar (having never made this exact type of sauce before, how was I to know?). I had to dump the sauce down the drain and start from scratch. Second time around I used powdered sugar, and I replaced the 2 cups of water with only 1 cup of milk. Basically I had to follow an entirely different recipe, and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BugNBear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Chef John's Fresh Raspberry Sauce

Chef John's recipe for fresh raspberry sauce will turn any day into Valentine's D

Salted Caramel Sauce

See how to make the world’s best topping for ice cream!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States