Vanilla Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
Perfect over recipe for Bread Pudding II submitted by Ellen Warfield! I took the advice of another review and changed it to two TBSP cornstarch to 1 cup water. Served warm. It was the perfect consistency!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luna

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
This is the perfect sauce for bread pudding. I made this for my family and they loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greencastle, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
i was looking for a quick and easy vanilla sauce to go with a jewish apple cake i made, and this was quick, easy, and delicious! its a little more carmel than vanilla, but carmel and apple go well together. i did reduce the water to 1 cup and increase the cornstarch to 2 tablespoons and it turned out perfectly. this would also be fabulous with bread pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
Use less water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
Quick Easy... and Tasty. Used 1 Cup 1% Milk, 3 tbls cornstarch, Extra Vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
Sorry, no stars. I used all the good advice of the other reviewers, reduced water to 1 can, used 2 tablespoons starch and powdered sugar. I have a guest with a lactose allergy, that's why I was looking for a recipe without milk or cream. The product was alright in consistency but it tasted terrible. Like mashed card board with vanilla flavour. Hugh! I hate throwing food out but I couldn’t think of any thing to do it with. So I fed it to the cats - there are 20 barn cats, they eat everything ;-) Sorry, it might be a useful sauce for something, but I wouldn't dare calling it "Vanilla sauce".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caljane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cologne, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Living In: Devils Tower, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
This seemed to be really runny no matter how much corn starch you added. I will stick to the Carmel sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
Very good. I followed the recipe as is and used it over bread pudding. It was nice because it warmed and softened the bread a bit. Next time will follow the suggestions to decrease water and increase cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexis M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
I made the changes suggested by other reviewers: used half the water, twice the cornstarch, confectioner's sugar. I also added half a cup of evaporated milk when I added the butter and vanilla. Not only very good on the bread pudding I made it for, but good cold the next day with store-bought molasses cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARGARET CARR

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2005
Keep the ingredients the same , except add an additional 1 tbsp cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Salted Caramel Sauce

See how to make the world’s best topping for ice cream!

Fresh Strawberry Sauce

See how to make a simple strawberry sauce for cheesecakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States