Vanilla Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
This is the perfect sauce for bread pudding. I made this for my family and they loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greencastle, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
i was looking for a quick and easy vanilla sauce to go with a jewish apple cake i made, and this was quick, easy, and delicious! its a little more carmel than vanilla, but carmel and apple go well together. i did reduce the water to 1 cup and increase the cornstarch to 2 tablespoons and it turned out perfectly. this would also be fabulous with bread pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
Use less water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
Quick Easy... and Tasty. Used 1 Cup 1% Milk, 3 tbls cornstarch, Extra Vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
Sorry, no stars. I used all the good advice of the other reviewers, reduced water to 1 can, used 2 tablespoons starch and powdered sugar. I have a guest with a lactose allergy, that's why I was looking for a recipe without milk or cream. The product was alright in consistency but it tasted terrible. Like mashed card board with vanilla flavour. Hugh! I hate throwing food out but I couldn’t think of any thing to do it with. So I fed it to the cats - there are 20 barn cats, they eat everything ;-) Sorry, it might be a useful sauce for something, but I wouldn't dare calling it "Vanilla sauce".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caljane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cologne, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Living In: Devils Tower, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
This seemed to be really runny no matter how much corn starch you added. I will stick to the Carmel sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
Very good. I followed the recipe as is and used it over bread pudding. It was nice because it warmed and softened the bread a bit. Next time will follow the suggestions to decrease water and increase cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexis M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
I made the changes suggested by other reviewers: used half the water, twice the cornstarch, confectioner's sugar. I also added half a cup of evaporated milk when I added the butter and vanilla. Not only very good on the bread pudding I made it for, but good cold the next day with store-bought molasses cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARGARET CARR

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2005
Keep the ingredients the same , except add an additional 1 tbsp cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
Good start, but needs work. Definitely reduce the water to 1 cup and add another tablespoon cornstarch. Very good with these changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Salted Caramel Sauce

See how to make the world’s best topping for ice cream!

Fresh Strawberry Sauce

See how to make a simple strawberry sauce for cheesecakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States