Vanilla Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
Based on other reviews, I increased the cornstarch to 2 TBSP and used 1 1/2 cups liquid (subbed milk for water). Served with bread pudding. We thought it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
I'm glad I read the review before attempting this recipe. I did like the others and used 1 cup of water and 2 tbsp. of cornstarch. It came out pretty good. I used it over Bread Pudding II from this site. I might try adding a little whiskey to this to see what happens to the flavor next time.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
I used this recipe and doubled the cornstarch. It was fine on apple cake. Still would like to find the recipe my Mother made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
THIS WAS VERY GOOD WITH CHANGES.......1 CUP OF WATER AND 2 TBS OF CORNSTARCH.PUT THIS OVER BREADPUDDING AND IT WAS DELISH.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by daveycooks
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
Easy to make and good taste. I needed to thin it out a bit with more water. I must have put in too much corn starch to start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daveycooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
I took the other reviewer's suggestions and cut the water to 1 Cup and bumped up the cornstarch to 2 Tablespoons. I thought this was very good. I used it over a dense, moist cinnamon cake (much like bread pudding) with vanilla ice cream and it was amazing!! I can't think what else I would use it on, but it was exactly what I needed at the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARILYNN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brenham, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
Good, but now I realize why pure vanilla extract should be used! I used imitation and I could taste the fake vanilla flavor. I made it thicker and used less sugar and it came out fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosemarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
I followed others' suggestions and cut the water down to 1 cup and added 1TBSP of cornstarch. I also added a little extra vanilla. It was absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montpelier, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
This is wonderful on the golden bread pudding. Added a sprinkling of cinnamon the 2nd time I made it and think it added alot to the flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
Perfect over recipe for Bread Pudding II submitted by Ellen Warfield! I took the advice of another review and changed it to two TBSP cornstarch to 1 cup water. Served warm. It was the perfect consistency!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luna

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Salted Caramel Sauce

See how to make the world’s best topping for ice cream!

Fresh Strawberry Sauce

See how to make a simple strawberry sauce for cheesecakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States