Vanilla Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
Based on other reviews, I increased the cornstarch to 2 TBSP and used 1 1/2 cups liquid (subbed milk for water). Served with bread pudding. We thought it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
I'm glad I read the review before attempting this recipe. I did like the others and used 1 cup of water and 2 tbsp. of cornstarch. It came out pretty good. I used it over Bread Pudding II from this site. I might try adding a little whiskey to this to see what happens to the flavor next time.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
I used this recipe and doubled the cornstarch. It was fine on apple cake. Still would like to find the recipe my Mother made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
THIS WAS VERY GOOD WITH CHANGES.......1 CUP OF WATER AND 2 TBS OF CORNSTARCH.PUT THIS OVER BREADPUDDING AND IT WAS DELISH.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by daveycooks
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
Easy to make and good taste. I needed to thin it out a bit with more water. I must have put in too much corn starch to start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daveycooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
I took the other reviewer's suggestions and cut the water to 1 Cup and bumped up the cornstarch to 2 Tablespoons. I thought this was very good. I used it over a dense, moist cinnamon cake (much like bread pudding) with vanilla ice cream and it was amazing!! I can't think what else I would use it on, but it was exactly what I needed at the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARILYNN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brenham, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
Good, but now I realize why pure vanilla extract should be used! I used imitation and I could taste the fake vanilla flavor. I made it thicker and used less sugar and it came out fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosemarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
I followed others' suggestions and cut the water down to 1 cup and added 1TBSP of cornstarch. I also added a little extra vanilla. It was absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenni Cluckey

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montpelier, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
This is wonderful on the golden bread pudding. Added a sprinkling of cinnamon the 2nd time I made it and think it added alot to the flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
Perfect over recipe for Bread Pudding II submitted by Ellen Warfield! I took the advice of another review and changed it to two TBSP cornstarch to 1 cup water. Served warm. It was the perfect consistency!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luna

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Salted Caramel Sauce

See how to make the world’s best topping for ice cream!

Fresh Strawberry Sauce

See how to make a simple strawberry sauce for cheesecakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States