Vanilla Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
I reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup, did the 2 tbls of cornstarch and did 1/2 cup carnation milk with 1/2 cup water. It was soooooo yummy, a keeper. Thanks for the recipe and all the other sugestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
Based on other reviews, I increased the cornstarch to 2 TBSP and used 1 1/2 cups liquid (subbed milk for water). Served with bread pudding. We thought it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
I'm glad I read the review before attempting this recipe. I did like the others and used 1 cup of water and 2 tbsp. of cornstarch. It came out pretty good. I used it over Bread Pudding II from this site. I might try adding a little whiskey to this to see what happens to the flavor next time.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
I used this recipe and doubled the cornstarch. It was fine on apple cake. Still would like to find the recipe my Mother made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
THIS WAS VERY GOOD WITH CHANGES.......1 CUP OF WATER AND 2 TBS OF CORNSTARCH.PUT THIS OVER BREADPUDDING AND IT WAS DELISH.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by daveycooks
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
Easy to make and good taste. I needed to thin it out a bit with more water. I must have put in too much corn starch to start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daveycooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
I took the other reviewer's suggestions and cut the water to 1 Cup and bumped up the cornstarch to 2 Tablespoons. I thought this was very good. I used it over a dense, moist cinnamon cake (much like bread pudding) with vanilla ice cream and it was amazing!! I can't think what else I would use it on, but it was exactly what I needed at the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARILYNN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brenham, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
Good, but now I realize why pure vanilla extract should be used! I used imitation and I could taste the fake vanilla flavor. I made it thicker and used less sugar and it came out fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosemarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
I followed others' suggestions and cut the water down to 1 cup and added 1TBSP of cornstarch. I also added a little extra vanilla. It was absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenni Cluckey

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montpelier, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
This is wonderful on the golden bread pudding. Added a sprinkling of cinnamon the 2nd time I made it and think it added alot to the flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Quick Tartar Sauce

Delicious homemade sauce with just four ingredients.

Chef John's Fresh Raspberry Sauce

Chef John's recipe for fresh raspberry sauce will turn any day into Valentine's D

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States