Vanilla Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 7, 2009
i also used this on top of bread pudding II. i did not have cornstarch on hand so just used flour instead i mixed one cup of sugar to one cup of water and put that on the stove on high. then i mixed 2 tbs of flour with 1/4 c of water in a bowl till well mixed and dumped it in the sugar water mix. after it boiled and cooked for a minute, i took it off the heat and added 2 tbs butter. (make sure you use real butter because it tastes much better!!!) then i dumped it on my still warm out of the oven bread pudding... delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Milia
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
This is a pretty good sauce recipe :) As per the reviews I doubled the cornstarch, but I found it still pretty runny - so next time I will add more again. I also doubled the vanilla so the flavour would pop and it was yummy! I'd make it again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsmaggiehunter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
This is a fabulous recipe. I do make it with brown sugar though, instead of white. It is great over fresh apple cake. It has been in my family for years. My Mom always made it with the white sugar but I prefer the brown. Good either way
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Yikes! I did NOT (as I usually do) read the reviews first and this turned out to be a runny mess. It tasted ok, but it was NOT how a vanilla sauce should be. Follow the advice of the other reviewers. I used milk (half of what's called for) and confectioners sugar for second batch, I also doubled the cornstarch and it was much much better! Will make it again with the Grandma's apple bread pudding which was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IHaveAThingForArmyGreen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
followed the reviewer who called for 1 cup water and 2 tbsp cornstarch- great over bread pudding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Oh boy, is this ever good! I doubled the cornstarch and halved the water and used confectioners’ sugar. This will give more than enough sauce with a thick consistency to be used on Bread Pudding II from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
1 cup of water and 2 tbsp of cornstarch makes a perfect sauce for bread pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fallston, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sunland Park, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
As others stated, reduce water to 1 cup and add addt'l 1 TBSP cornstarch along with 2 TBSP rum flavor. MMmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nanacooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
This was easy to make and OH SO DELICIOUS!!! I served it warm over Warm Bread Pudding and it was FABULOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
I reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup, did the 2 tbls of cornstarch and did 1/2 cup carnation milk with 1/2 cup water. It was soooooo yummy, a keeper. Thanks for the recipe and all the other sugestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Salted Caramel Sauce

See how to make the world’s best topping for ice cream!

Fresh Strawberry Sauce

See how to make a simple strawberry sauce for cheesecakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States