Vanilla Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
The idea of the sauce seemed okay, but as others I had to modify the whole recipe. I used 3/4 cup icing sugar, 2 TBSP of cornstarch, 1 cup of water. After it came to a boil I added the butter and extract (I used maple~personal preference) I tasted it and though it was still lacking something. I added about 1/4 cup of half and half cream to the mixture and that creamed it up and it tasted good. Hard to give more then 1 star when the whole recipe was changed. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
This is the same recipe that my grandma made for years. This is the only thing to eat on gingerbread. I used 2 tablespoons of cornstarch and my grandma always added a pinch of salt. I could not rate 5 stars because of the adjustments but this is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
the reviews are right on. great sauce, but 1 cup of water, 2tbs cornstarch, easy, good, what else could u want!?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by strawberishimmer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I changed the recipe a bit. I only used one cup water and two tablespoons cornstarch because I wanted it to be a bit thicker to use on bread pudding. It works really well. The last time I made it I accidently used two tablespoons instead of two teaspoons of vanilla. My mom said she likes it even better that way. More vanilla flavour and she didn't find it as sweet that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Made bread pudding last night. Wanted to serve with a vanilla sauce and found this one. So easy and delicious. I even used real margarine (not spread) instead of butter and still wonderful. Next time I'll try butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Riverton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Delicious. I made it as a topping for bread pudding and it was out of this world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
This was good and very easy I followed others suggestions added extra cornstarch and only one cup of water I did add an extra teaspoon of vanilla and 1/4 cup of butter was tasty with my bread pudding I wish it was thicker though may try adding a lil more cornstarch next time... Will make again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sillasmiles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durand, Michigan, USA
Living In: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
My dad always made this sauce for bread pudding when I was a kid. I couldn't find the recipe he gave me anywhere. After searching the net for quite a while and only finding recipes that called for cream, I stumbled upon this one. It's pretty much identical to the one I had. I too halved the recipe and upped the cornstarch to 2tsp. PERFECT, just the finishing touch that bread pudding needs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
I halved the recipe and used approximate measurements and it still turned out similar to what I think it would, had I followed and measured exactly. I added a bit more vanilla than called for and served it warm over bread pudding III from this site. I was looking for something a bit more vanilla-y...this did the trick as far as adding moisture, but was more of a glorified simple syrup sauce than a rich, vanilla sauce that I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kTd86

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fergus Falls, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Hmmm, I didn't like how watery it tasted. I always like my sauces creamy, especially with bread pudding. Not as terrific as I hoped, unfortunately. Next time I'll stick with traditional creme anglaise- something not based on water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Rexburg, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Chef John's Fresh Raspberry Sauce

Chef John's recipe for fresh raspberry sauce will turn any day into Valentine's D

Salted Caramel Sauce

See how to make the world’s best topping for ice cream!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States