Vanilla Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by MagicallyDelicious
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
This is the sauce I remember from when I was little - amazing over gingerbread...it soaks it up. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Why are people giving this 4 stars and then saying the quantities are all wrong and you should use powdered sugar? That's like giving a 4 star review to your cruise on the titanic. "Everything was just lovely, marred oh so slightly by that incident with the iceberg". This recipe is just plain wrong and if you make it you'll end up with a pan of water. If you change it as others suggest, it will be better, but still didn't have enough flavor or richness. Abandon ship and look elsewhere for your vanilla sauce advice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This is the recipe my mother used for over 60 years. I made it as written and got a perfect result. Key points are to mix sugar and cornstarch before adding water, and to heat (med-high) stirring CONSTANTLY. Let it cool to warm after adding vanilla and butter. Perfect over chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
I followed several reviewers' suggestions to reduce the water to 1 cup and increase the cornstarch to 2 Tbs. I used granulated sugar. (White sugar always refers to granulated, not powdered sugar. Maybe some reviewers had trouble because they didn't blend the sugar and cornstarch completely before adding the water, or they didn't stir while it was getting hot. That would cause lumps for sure.) The consistency was perfect to go on top of Pumpkin Bread Pudding found on this site. The pudding was great and this sauce made it even better. I'm rating this 5 stars because I hate to see someone give a bad rating when the cook changed the recipe. I'm sure this is just as good as written, just a little thinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Without reading other reviews, I followed the recipe to a T, and I have to say that as written it is a watered-down goopy mess of a sauce. The term "white sugar" is extremely vague and I took it to mean granulated sugar (having never made this exact type of sauce before, how was I to know?). I had to dump the sauce down the drain and start from scratch. Second time around I used powdered sugar, and I replaced the 2 cups of water with only 1 cup of milk. Basically I had to follow an entirely different recipe, and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BugNBear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
mmmmm very good but needs only 1 cup of water and icing sugar instead of normal sugar,also for you vanilla lovers try 3 teaspoons of vanilla instead of 2
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
Author used incorrect ingredients. She should have said 10x sugar (powdered sugar) if you follow directions then you will have dirty, syrupy, water colored mixture. Nasty and a waste of ingedients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southampton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
The idea of the sauce seemed okay, but as others I had to modify the whole recipe. I used 3/4 cup icing sugar, 2 TBSP of cornstarch, 1 cup of water. After it came to a boil I added the butter and extract (I used maple~personal preference) I tasted it and though it was still lacking something. I added about 1/4 cup of half and half cream to the mixture and that creamed it up and it tasted good. Hard to give more then 1 star when the whole recipe was changed. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
This is the same recipe that my grandma made for years. This is the only thing to eat on gingerbread. I used 2 tablespoons of cornstarch and my grandma always added a pinch of salt. I could not rate 5 stars because of the adjustments but this is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
the reviews are right on. great sauce, but 1 cup of water, 2tbs cornstarch, easy, good, what else could u want!?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by strawberishimmer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Easy Homemade Chocolate Sauce

See how to make delicious homemade chocolate sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States