Vanilla Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
This recipe needs to be changed before it gets anything above 1 star. As written, the recipe comes out very watery and soupy, with no real flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by StickySue
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
I made this sauce for Healthier Bread Pudding. I cut back on the water by half and doubled the cornstarch. I also used Splenda in place of sugar. It turn out like a sauce consistency and it tasted pretty tasty. Thanks, Happy Cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StickySue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Tasty! Only sub was milk for water and a little extra cornstarch. A lot easier than messing with sauces that have eggs and tempering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah.antoinette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
Delicious sauce! I did make the recommended changes though: 1 cup water, 2 tbsp cornstarch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
This is excellent. I always use this for my bread pudding and people rave about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Great easy recipe for vanilla sauce. If you want the thicker sauce follow other remarks about adding 2 T of cornstarch to 1 c of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I substitute milk for the water. Makes it richer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
I followed the mods that most people mentioned, increasing to 2 T cornstarch and decreasing to 1 C water. We liked it, but I did find it a bit sweet. I will make it again, but may try it with more water to cut the sweetness. I might also try switching the vanilla extract with rum flavoring. It reminded me of butter rum sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Simple, easy, and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
If you substituted margarine for butter and advertised it as lactose-free, it might be acceptable, but I had this alongside a vanilla sauce made with milk and I was truly humiliated by the poor taste and texture of this sauce. I will certainly never make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Chef John's Fresh Raspberry Sauce

Chef John's recipe for fresh raspberry sauce will turn any day into Valentine's D

Salted Caramel Sauce

See how to make the world’s best topping for ice cream!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States