Vanilla Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I made two different pumpkin pies for Thanksgiving this year and this one was by far the favorite. I doubled up on the vanilla as suggested by others. I had to bake an extra ten minutes, but that might be my oven. I was really glad to see this turn out so well - when you're baking at higher altitudes it's always hard to know what you're going to get, but this recipe worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Great pie. We exchanged 1/4 white sugar for 1/4 brown sugar. Increased both salt and cinnamon by a mere 1/4 tsp. each. Great base from which to cook a perfect pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
This recipe is great but I am only giving it 4 stars because I altered it so much. I used sweetened condensed milk instead of evaporated, doubled the vanilla and added 2 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice and one teaspoon cinnamon. It help up beautifully and cut very nice. It wasn't runny at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Delicious and easy to make! I accidentally used sweetened condensed milk instead of evaporated milk, but it still turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
I doubled the vanilla, as some others have suggested, and this recipe tasted just like a sugar cream pie... I couldn't taste the pumpkin at all. That said, the texture was very nice, and the taste WAS good. I'm just disappointed that the pumpkin flavor was missing in a pumpkin pie. If I make this again, I'll use the amount of vanilla listed in the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Luv2Cook
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
This pie allows you to appreciate the pumpkin in the pie. Imagine that, tasting the pumpkin in a pumpkin pie! I make it multiple times every fall season and my family loves it! I use non-fat condensed milk and make my own pumkin puree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2Cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
I made this today from a pie pumpkin I bought over the weekend. After cooking the pumpkin in the oven, I pureed the pulp in the blender, and decided to just add all the ingredients in there (liquids first, followed by spices, then sugar, then flour). The pie is incredibly smooth. The only change I made to the recipe was adding a 1/4 tsp nutmeg and a bit more vanilla. It's plenty sweet without any additional sugar. So far, I've only eaten it warm, but I have a feeling I'll like it even more once it's cooled all the way... if it makes it that long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Excellent, I've never tried or made pumpkin pie, this one was a real hit. Around here pumpkin pie is not common and everyone loved it. I'll make it again and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naybi

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
I don't know what happened with this recipe but it didn't work for me at all. The mixture was very watery and I followed the recipe down to the last bit. My crust burnt BAD and there was so much more filling then the regular 9 inch unbaked pie crust. I had plenty left over and the pie spilled over while baking. Something went wrong but I will keep trying. I love vanilla pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
All I can say is uuuuuummmmmmm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momof3greatboys

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vilas, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States