Vanilla Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
I just made this. Didn't change a thing yet there's still a film that develops on top. Any ideas as to why? And how I can fix it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
I thought this recipe was easy and delicious. I poured the pudding over fresh fruit before it cooled and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexandria Schick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Such an easy recipe. Great to make with your kids! I added leftover cooked brown rice, cinnamon and raisins for yummy rice pudding. The kids gobbled it up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
This was my first time making a eggless pudding, so I probably had incorrect expectations. I found the texture odd, as it didn't remain creamy as it cooled. I used it for banana pudding (ran out of eggs and was looking for an option), and the pudding layer is "solid". The flavor was good, though. I added almond extract and a splash of bourbon with the vanilla. Now that I now what to expect, I'd make this again, maybe for a kids dessert with some fruit compote or something on top. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Auburn Hills, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I just made this and it turned out great! One thing I did differently to help it thicken was to cook the original recipe until it was hot enough to boil. I held it at just under boiling for about 4 minutes. Then I slowly poured in a mixture of 2T milk and 1T of cornstarch that had been mixed well to take the lumps out. Within 45 seconds of pouring this in, it began to thicken quickly. I turned the heat down a little to slow the thickening down so the cornstarch would cook into the pudding. Within 2 minutes, it was finished. There is no cornstarch taste, but a wonderful vanilla taste. Remember, you are making this from scratch...it takes a little patience to get it thick, but so worth it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
I've made this recipe twice, once as is and once chocolate by substituting 1/4 cup cocoa for the vanilla. Both were wonderful and easy. It's also good warm, so no need to chill if you like warm pudding. I will never buy boxed mix again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by StickySue
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I took half of the pudding and added red food color. made like a parfait. I like this recipe very much. it had good flavor and easy to make. Thanks, Happy Cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StickySue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Very simple to make and has a nice taste. This was good on its own with a dash more vanilla but also makes a good base for other flavours such as chocolate or banana, to use as a pie filling, or to top with chocolate, sliced fruit, etc..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
I thought this was ok. I used good flavoring so it had good flavor. The texture was a little lackluster though. It was probably as good as a pudding without eggs or butter can be. I used it to make trifle with fresh bananas and banana cake. While we enjoyed the dessert, I doubt I would make this again. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marykevinaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
This was yummy. I had some milk that was getting ready to go bad and this was a great use for it. I made as stated and added the vanilla and it didn't seem to be enough so I more than doubled it just to get the vanilla flavor I was looking for. Will be making again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coleebear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sykesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States