Vanilla Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2004
This was too simple for words! Tasty too! I don't always care for the taste of eggs so I gave this a try just to see if it would make a good banana pudding. It made an excellent, and fast banana pudding.This pudding, a few vanilla wafers and a couple of sliced bananas and life is good. Thanks for sharing an easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
This has to be one of the simplest recipes I have come across. It takes about 10 mins from start to finish. The texture smooth and creamy. The reviewers who say it is bland intrigue me, what do you think vanilla pudding is going to taste like? If you want a stronger taste use a different essence, I have made them with almond essence and toasted almonds and also tried mixing 2-1/2 tsp of coffee with 1-1/2tsp of water in place of essence and they have all come out beautifully. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe it is a definite favourite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hobart, Tasmania, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
This recipe is just what I was looking for. A light dessert recipe that's very easy to prepare. If you can make gravy from a packet you will have no problem with this recipe. Set up very quickly too (30 min.) for a nice mold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
This is the same recipe I've used for years, so I can vouch for it. You can add nearly any flavoring, including cocoa, (up to 1/4 cup). It's also a good base for many kinds of fruit (I use the fruit water with dry milk, instead of plain milk). I usually don't continue to let it cook after adding the vanilla...probably just from habit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelnut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Junction City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2004
This recipe came out pretty good. I added a bit of cocoa, as the vanilla was just a bit bland for me, but the consistency was right on. I think I might try it with bananas or use brown sugar for 1/2 of the recipe net time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Brattleboro, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
I really like the taste of this pudding, however I could not get it to thicken. While stirring I allowed the mixture to boil for quite some time, and still it did not thicken. I added about 2Tbls more starch, but by then the milk was already forming a lot of skin. It finally thickened with the extra starch, but the pudding is full of milk skin chunks. Should I tell my roomates it's tapioca?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
If what you want is a nice, easy vanilla pudding, this is it! I did, however, use only 1/4 cup sugar (actually, 2 Tbsps splenda and 2 Tbsps sugar) as I usually like things less sweet. It turned out perfect. My daughter thought it tasted just like the cooked packaged vanilla pudding (didn't notice the splenda at all) which she really likes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
this pudding is wonderful! it thicken wonderfully, i was worried about how it would taste because most people seemed to have troubles with it but is was great! I didnt put it in molds i ate it warm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
I hate the taste of eggs in pudding so I tried this and loved it. Made banana cream pie.....love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
I love it... I love it alot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States