Vanilla Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
This is the same recipe I've used for years, so I can vouch for it. You can add nearly any flavoring, including cocoa, (up to 1/4 cup). It's also a good base for many kinds of fruit (I use the fruit water with dry milk, instead of plain milk). I usually don't continue to let it cook after adding the vanilla...probably just from habit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelnut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Junction City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
good recipes~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
This turned out more of a mousse than a pudding; a little on the foamy side. I used powdered vanilla flavoring rather than liquid, and I ended up using a total of 1 1/2 Tbsp. of that. I don't know how it's going to set up, but at the moment it's still really soft, more like a pastry cream than a pudding. Flavor-wise, it's very good. It would make a good base for stovetop rice pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: San Leandro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
I really liked this recipe for a base for other puddings and pies. I quadruppled this recipe and added 1 and a half cups of peanut butter and I made pies with it. I turned put perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
If what you want is a nice, easy vanilla pudding, this is it! I did, however, use only 1/4 cup sugar (actually, 2 Tbsps splenda and 2 Tbsps sugar) as I usually like things less sweet. It turned out perfect. My daughter thought it tasted just like the cooked packaged vanilla pudding (didn't notice the splenda at all) which she really likes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
This is such a wonderful, simple vanilla pudding. Try it hot on a chilly day, it's the ultimate comfort food! I mix all the dry ingredients first, then whisk in the milk until everything is well blended before I start cooking the pudding, it turns out perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenthumb0027

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boerne, Texas, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
My fiance and dad liked it a lot just as it was. I mixed in some crumbled chocholate cupcake in mine and it tastes like an oreo cookie! As earlier reviews commented, it sets up quickly. However, it takes a while to chill completely. Staying in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommycook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zeeland, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
I was stirring it, and the mixture was burnt onto the pan, it made burnt flakes come up into it. We tasted it anyway, the flavor (minus the burnt flakes) was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KenzieKook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2010
This turned out quite nicely. In the end, I used whole milk, but wish it had been a little creamier. Next time I will make with half mik and half cream for a richer pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
The taste was ok, but this pudding didn't thicken at all, even after adding more cornstarch. I'll never make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States