Vanilla-Maple Apple Pie Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
I'm not above admitting I did something wrong, but I really had to play with the amounts in this recipe. the cinnamon is very strong and the mixture got extremely thick before it got anywhere close to clear. I had to add extra water to thin it out. I haven't put it in a pie but have tasted it. It is ok but has too much cinnamon for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Freya

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
Totally unusable in current form. This must be a joke.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
I have never rated a recipe but this was just awful... TOO much cinnamon (and I used less) and how could a mixture with that much cinnamon be 'clear'? The whole mess was just a waste of time and ingredients,should have read the reviews first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
I agree with other users. This recipe required some "tweaking". First off it should be 3 tsp of cinnamon, As well I added an additional 1 1/2 cups of water and cooked the apples in the syrup mixture. It was still a little on the thick side but overall not too bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: St. Thomas, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
I decided to change it and put it in the Moen Recipe Book, It makes it all that much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dandilion

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
This was not appetizing at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chateauguay, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
This pie had very little flavor. My husband said it tasted like nothing. I am not a good enough cook to be at the recipe tweaking stage just yet...which is why I rely heavily on this website. My mistake was not reading the reviews before making this dessert. ...Sorry, to have to be so critical.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmarie47

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
I was in a hurry & didn't take the time to read the reviews until after I made this. I had doubled the recipe and used brown sugar instead of white. I put most of it in the freezer, but left one to make up in an apple crisp the next day. I didn't find anything wrong with this recipe and my husband loved the apple crisp. I greased a 9x9 pan, put my filling in and topped with a mixture of 1 cup flour, 1 cup brown sugar and 1/4 cup margarine, baked at 350 for about 25 minutes. It was delicious. Not sure what all the bad reviews are about, my bunch loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Effingham, Illinois, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I liked this filling. It never did become clear and I maybe put 2tsp of cinnomen in. I really like teh maple flavoring and how thick the filling is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marion, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
I didn't read the directions before so I didn't cook anything I just added everything but the nutmeg and cornstarch. I have green apples from my tree and they needed to be super sweet for my easy as pie apple muffins anyways. I thought it was great. I like to add things or take things out to make it my own recipe but I'm very happy I found this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie Filling

Whip up a batch when you have a lot of apples and store the filling in the freeze

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States