Vanilla Ice Cream VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
This was a delicious recipe, but it would probably get 4 stars on taste alone. However, it was so incredibly easy (and with ingredients typically on hand), it must get 5. I couldn't resist following another reviewer's suggestion on another recipe and adding 1/4 c vanilla flavored powdered coffee creamer (I used Italian Sweet Cream flavor). We will make this recipe many times this summer, I'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dizziepixie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
I don't have an ice cream maker, so I just made this in the freezer and stirred it every 15-30 minutes. It was very tasty! not as creamy as I'd like (probably because of the lack of ice cream maker), and not as "full" I think that a custard base would be better, but if you just want ice cream and don't have much on hand, this will hit the spot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
Great recipe! I don't have an ice cream machine, so I just mixed the ingredients together, put the bowl in the freezer, and waited a few hours. The result was a wonderful, refreshing, vanilla slushy. Great recipe for warm summer days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
That was amazing!!!! To give it a richer texture instead of two cups of milk I did one and a half cups of milk and half a cup of whipping cream. I also found the recipe versitile, you can substitute the vanilla extract for something else, in my case lavender syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
This did not freeze well for me. I left it in the ice cream maker for about 45 minutes and it never even started to thicken. I then put it into the freezer, where it turned into a giant block of ice. It was nearly impossible to scoop, but I could shave it off with a metal spoon. The flavor was fine (like sweet, vanilla-flavored milk), but it was much too icy and watery for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
I read several of the reviews, so I knew this had the possibility of being too icy. And then, after we had it all hooked up and spinning in the ice cream maker, I realized that I didn't have enough ice to fill the bucket like I should have! So I was thrilled that it came out so yummy. Of course, it isn't as creamy as other ice creams; there isn't as much cream when you use regular milk instead of whipping cream. But this was easy easy easy, everyone in the family loved it, and we will definitely do it again very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CBARBUSCA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Super quick and easy to make. I followed another reviewers suggestion and used a can of evaporated milk and used 2% milk. Tastes like the ice cream I used to eat in England when I was growing up. My kids make this with minimal mess or supervisio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
It did NOT freeze and was very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
I cannot believe how easy this was. It tasted great too. It wasn't quite as creamy as normal ice cream, but you can't really expect that when it uses milk and not cream. If you want something creamier just replace some or all of the milk with cream. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Cut down recipe in the future. Maybe try a can of evaporated milk in the future or using 2% or whole milk..Good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States