Vanilla Ice Cream VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
This ice cream is pretty good. Since I don't have a maker, I just mix the ingredients (usually a big batch!) and put the bowl in the freezer. I check on it every 30 minutes or so and it freezes in a few hours. It's really great, and I recommend everyone try it:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Statesboro, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2003
This is really good and light tasting. I halved the recipe and to make it taste richer I used 1 can evaporated milk and then added enough 1% milk to make 4 cups and doubled the amount of vanilla. (for the full recipe of 8 cups milk, it would be 2 tbsp instead of 1) I also added a handful strawberries that I crushed a little to the mixture just before freezing. The next time I make this I think I will decrease the amount of sugar just a little bit because I don't like super-sweet ice cream. But otherwise, it's really, really nice and guilt-free. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURASC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
My husband was recently diagnosed as lactose intolerant and allergic to eggs. The one thing he has missed is ice cream. Everything I read said don't bother trying to make homemade ice cream with lactose free milk. This recipe works great with any of the brands of lactose free milk and tastes just like the soft serve ice cream you get at restaurants. I did find I have to use our hand crank maker but it turns out excellent in about 18 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2003
This is the recipe I have been looking for. Most ice cream recipes taste like frozen Cool Whip to me, but this one is perfect! I use 2% Milk and a little less sugar and it's truly the only the dessert I have ever had that is low in fat, but doesn't taste that way. I use this one every time now. LOVE IT! I would give it 20 stars if I could! Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
This is perfect! It's a lighter ice cream. This recipe is the reason I bought an ice cream maker. If you like it harder just put it in the freezer for a little while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2002
I was very surprised with how good this was, especially since it has so few ingredients! Of course, I added crushed Oreos to it--but that makes ANY ice cream better! This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aunt Jane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
I did not like this recipe. It came out thin and icy and had little ice chunks in it. There was nothing creamy about it. It was more like a vanilla milk slushy. It is very simple to make though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
This was so quick and easy. I wish it were just a bit richer, but you can't beat the simplicity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2006
Really good! I added sliced frozen strawberries. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2005
Yummy! This is an easy cheap way to make ice milk! I have been missing ice milk since it disappeared from stores in the early 90's and I love the texture and taste of homemade ice cream, so I was happy to find this recipe. I like the light sweet taste. I did cut the sugar in half, but when I make this again I will use 1 and 1/2 cups sugar because I think I cut a little TOO much out. I also used 2% milk which worked great. It is after midnight and I am making myself go to sleep because I cannot stop eating the ice milk!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States