Vanilla Ice Cream VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
This is really like frozen sweetened milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
Wow! This is an excellent rich but not heavy classic no-cook, no-egg recipe. It's the recipe I remember eating when I was a kid and we would make homemade ice cream in the big machine packing the outside with rock salt and crushed ice. It doesn't get any better than ice cream with a 3-ingredient list. I also substituted some half and half for the milk which made it just a bit richer and creamier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
What a fantastic and EASY recipe. I like it made with just milk rather than whipping cream-it just tastes lighter and is very refreshing on a hot day. Although no improvements are needed, I sometimes throw in a box of pudding mix-white chocolate is my favorite. I have made this with chocolate milk too. My kids love it!! *If you are watching your calories-try using fat free milk, splenda sugar blend and sugar free pudding mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
We used to make this with my pre-school class and take to a family picnic...just add fruit or flavoring of your choice. It's so easy, tastes great, and is MUCH healthier than a lot of ice cream recipes. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K. Miller

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
Oh my word.. lol This recipe is so GOOD!!!! I just made it today.. I did a couple of things differently. First I halved the recipe... then I added 2 cups skim milk and 2 cups whipping cream. I also added fresh pureed strawberries and cherries..a little cherry juice and some cut up strawberries.. It took a little longer to set.. but I am telling you.. this is not a good thing to make when you are on a diet like ME! lol Definitely the best homemade ice cream I have come across so far!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2008
I've used alot of recipes from this site..but seldom write a review..however..I must say that this is the BEST ice cream recipe ever!! These are the things I did different...I used 1 can of evaporated milk...and 7 cups of 2% milk and 2 teaspoons of POWDERED vanilla...my husband...who loves the rich ..full fat ice cream...said this was the best!!! thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
Yum! I took the advice of some of the other reviewers and decreased the sugar, it wasn't missed at all. The 2nd time I took 1cup of milk, 1 vanilla bean, sliced it opened, scraping out the inside with a spoon, stirred it in the milk, threw in the vanilla bean and microwaved it till warm. Then dissolved the sugar in it. Then added the rest of ingredients and placed it in the fridge till cold, put it ice cream maker(I did have to cut recipe in half to fit my machine). Tasted just like the ice cream we made when I was a kid in the old hand crank machine. Needless to say, there was none left. And I love the little chunky ice pieces. Just what I was looking for! I look forward to adding strawberries, maybe a choc chip mint with vanilla bean. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan C. Wheeler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Titusville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
Great simple recipe! Hubby asks for it all the time. I think it is more like "ice milk" than "ice cream" but still yummy! I am now hunting for a chocolate one as simple...maybe use chocolate milk? Hmmm...I wonder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
This is perfect! It's a lighter ice cream. This recipe is the reason I bought an ice cream maker. If you like it harder just put it in the freezer for a little while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
I've made this several times now and it's so quick and easy!! I cut it in half and it fits just right in my Kitchenaide stand mixer ice cream attachment. I like to use heavy cream instead of milk, and let it set in the freezer overnight. Mmmmm! My wife likes it better than Blue Bell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States