Vanilla Ice Cream VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
For such a simple ice cream I have to give this five stars! I was in the mood for a simple treat and I decided to buy a package of those instant milk drinks. The flavour was peanut punch. I mixed it up nice and thick, skipped the sugar as the drink already had enough sugar and still added in the vanilla. Let me say I was quite surprised at the outcome. Such a soft, light, creamy and delicious peanut flavoured ice cream! But I have to agree, if you are eating it right away it does start to melt quickly. Next time I will try this recipe as is though, I am sure it will be just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
I thought the texture was refreshing and great for a less heavy ice cream. My husband added to much vanilla though, so don't make that mistake! This reminds me a lot of snow ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Kris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
It was a little runny and didn't quite freeze enough, but was relatively creamy. I think if I make it again I'll freeze it overnight to let it set. It has a good flavor to it. I added some orange extract to it and it had a dreamsicle flavor to it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Great ice cream recipe. I've used varying types of milk (i.e. skim, 2%, etc) depending on how healthy I feel and each time it turns out great. You can obviously add nuts, fruits, candy, etc. to change the taste of the ice cream, which is very fun! Thank you for this simple & tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
I agree with some reviews, it was more like a sweet slush. It was good, but I'm looking for a creamier ice cream. I think that's the difference between this recipe and recipes that call for heavy cream and maybe boiling it all. But it's a nice, simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickygloz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
This is really like frozen sweetened milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
Wow! This is an excellent rich but not heavy classic no-cook, no-egg recipe. It's the recipe I remember eating when I was a kid and we would make homemade ice cream in the big machine packing the outside with rock salt and crushed ice. It doesn't get any better than ice cream with a 3-ingredient list. I also substituted some half and half for the milk which made it just a bit richer and creamier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
What a fantastic and EASY recipe. I like it made with just milk rather than whipping cream-it just tastes lighter and is very refreshing on a hot day. Although no improvements are needed, I sometimes throw in a box of pudding mix-white chocolate is my favorite. I have made this with chocolate milk too. My kids love it!! *If you are watching your calories-try using fat free milk, splenda sugar blend and sugar free pudding mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
We used to make this with my pre-school class and take to a family picnic...just add fruit or flavoring of your choice. It's so easy, tastes great, and is MUCH healthier than a lot of ice cream recipes. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K. Miller

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
Oh my word.. lol This recipe is so GOOD!!!! I just made it today.. I did a couple of things differently. First I halved the recipe... then I added 2 cups skim milk and 2 cups whipping cream. I also added fresh pureed strawberries and cherries..a little cherry juice and some cut up strawberries.. It took a little longer to set.. but I am telling you.. this is not a good thing to make when you are on a diet like ME! lol Definitely the best homemade ice cream I have come across so far!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States