Vanilla Ice Cream VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
So easy and it seemed like it was ready quite fast. I followed the recipe (almost) exactly--I added just a drip or two more of vanilla extract. The ice cream got rave reviews from everyone on our softball team--I'll be makin this again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Charlotte, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
I use this recipe all the time- adding different flavors and mix-ins.... tonight it's peppermint with chocolate chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QWERTYEMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Hanahan, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
ALMOND MILK WORKED GREAT IN THIS RECIPE (SUBSTITUTED FOR THE COW'S MILK)I ALSO ADDED HERSHEY'S COCOA MIXED WITH THE SUGAR FOR CHOCOLATE ICECREAM. IT TASTED LIKE FUDGESICLES! A TRULY NON-DAIRY DESSERT MY FAMILY CAN ENJOY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Houghtaling Hernandez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Big Bear Lake, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
This is super easy and very sweet and tasty. My kids really liked it and I liked how much lower in fat and calories than regular ice cream it is (do you know the calories in whipping cream? Ack! LOL). I think the people who are unhappy are not following the last step of the directions-- freeze according to manufacturer directions. It will be very watery if you serve it without freezing for at least a couple of hours! And of course it won't be super creamy, there's not much fat. My kids ate it right away anyway (with coconut, chopped walnuts and chocolate chips stirred in) and loved it. We made it with whole milk since I figured using anything with less fat would probably be too watery. I also noticed that half the great reviews changed it to be made with cream or evaporated milk, which is making a totally different recipe. This one is kind of icy but it's still quite good. It's cheaper, healthier and easier than 95% of the ice cream recipes out there. We plan on making it again tomorrow night. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
I loved this ice cream! It has a nice texture without being too creamy or smooth and has a wonderful taste. I'm one of those people who likes their ice cream a bit rougher. I also love how amazingly easy this recipe is! BUT, if you like your ice cream to be super creamy, then you won't like this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
This was a delicious and easy recipe. I used ingredients I had leftover from a previous ice-cream recipe. I cut the recipe in half to fit my machine and used the following ratio: 2 cups half and half, 1 cup heavy cream, 1 cup whole milk, 1 cup sugar, and 1 1/2 teaspoon vanilla. Tastes just like vanilla ice cream should: rich, creamy, pure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
I've made this recipe multiple times now. It's so quick and easy! Plus, there are so many variations to try. I like adding cinnamon! Today, however, I added raspberries by smashing them and folding them into the mixture. I use 2% milk, 1 1/2 cups sugar, and 2 teaspoons of vanilla. In the future, I may try adding pudding mix or geletin to make it a bit thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
great!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
I had to try this simple recipe! I don't have an ice cream maker, so I just combined everything in a bowl, put it in the freezer, and then took it out every 30 minutes or so to beat the mixture with a hand mixer. Consistency turned out great, but unfortunately waaay to sweet for my taste :( I was thinking of throwing the entire batch out when it occurred to me to try adding some lemon juice to balance out the sugar, and what do you know, suddenly I had the most delicious lemon ice cream ever! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bergen, Hordaland, Norway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
This was SO good! I was looking for a quick and easy cool treat to make on a hot day. This definitely hit the spot. My kids and husband loved it. I substitued Splenda for half of the sugar and it came out wonderful! I will be making it again...and again...and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States