Vanilla Ice Cream VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 30, 2008
I've used alot of recipes from this site..but seldom write a review..however..I must say that this is the BEST ice cream recipe ever!! These are the things I did different...I used 1 can of evaporated milk...and 7 cups of 2% milk and 2 teaspoons of POWDERED vanilla...my husband...who loves the rich ..full fat ice cream...said this was the best!!! thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
Yum! I took the advice of some of the other reviewers and decreased the sugar, it wasn't missed at all. The 2nd time I took 1cup of milk, 1 vanilla bean, sliced it opened, scraping out the inside with a spoon, stirred it in the milk, threw in the vanilla bean and microwaved it till warm. Then dissolved the sugar in it. Then added the rest of ingredients and placed it in the fridge till cold, put it ice cream maker(I did have to cut recipe in half to fit my machine). Tasted just like the ice cream we made when I was a kid in the old hand crank machine. Needless to say, there was none left. And I love the little chunky ice pieces. Just what I was looking for! I look forward to adding strawberries, maybe a choc chip mint with vanilla bean. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan C. Wheeler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Titusville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
Great simple recipe! Hubby asks for it all the time. I think it is more like "ice milk" than "ice cream" but still yummy! I am now hunting for a chocolate one as simple...maybe use chocolate milk? Hmmm...I wonder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
This is perfect! It's a lighter ice cream. This recipe is the reason I bought an ice cream maker. If you like it harder just put it in the freezer for a little while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
I've made this several times now and it's so quick and easy!! I cut it in half and it fits just right in my Kitchenaide stand mixer ice cream attachment. I like to use heavy cream instead of milk, and let it set in the freezer overnight. Mmmmm! My wife likes it better than Blue Bell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
This ice cream is pretty good. Since I don't have a maker, I just mix the ingredients (usually a big batch!) and put the bowl in the freezer. I check on it every 30 minutes or so and it freezes in a few hours. It's really great, and I recommend everyone try it:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Statesboro, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
This was so quick and easy. I wish it were just a bit richer, but you can't beat the simplicity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2006
Really good! I added sliced frozen strawberries. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
My husband was recently diagnosed as lactose intolerant and allergic to eggs. The one thing he has missed is ice cream. Everything I read said don't bother trying to make homemade ice cream with lactose free milk. This recipe works great with any of the brands of lactose free milk and tastes just like the soft serve ice cream you get at restaurants. I did find I have to use our hand crank maker but it turns out excellent in about 18 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
Quite addictive! Reminded me of the sweet white topping often poured over snow cones. I would definately reduce the amount of sugar, but would certainly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States