Vanilla Ice Cream VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
I loved this ice cream! It has a nice texture without being too creamy or smooth and has a wonderful taste. I'm one of those people who likes their ice cream a bit rougher. I also love how amazingly easy this recipe is! BUT, if you like your ice cream to be super creamy, then you won't like this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
This was a delicious and easy recipe. I used ingredients I had leftover from a previous ice-cream recipe. I cut the recipe in half to fit my machine and used the following ratio: 2 cups half and half, 1 cup heavy cream, 1 cup whole milk, 1 cup sugar, and 1 1/2 teaspoon vanilla. Tastes just like vanilla ice cream should: rich, creamy, pure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
I've made this recipe multiple times now. It's so quick and easy! Plus, there are so many variations to try. I like adding cinnamon! Today, however, I added raspberries by smashing them and folding them into the mixture. I use 2% milk, 1 1/2 cups sugar, and 2 teaspoons of vanilla. In the future, I may try adding pudding mix or geletin to make it a bit thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
great!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
I had to try this simple recipe! I don't have an ice cream maker, so I just combined everything in a bowl, put it in the freezer, and then took it out every 30 minutes or so to beat the mixture with a hand mixer. Consistency turned out great, but unfortunately waaay to sweet for my taste :( I was thinking of throwing the entire batch out when it occurred to me to try adding some lemon juice to balance out the sugar, and what do you know, suddenly I had the most delicious lemon ice cream ever! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by markeringstusj

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
This was SO good! I was looking for a quick and easy cool treat to make on a hot day. This definitely hit the spot. My kids and husband loved it. I substitued Splenda for half of the sugar and it came out wonderful! I will be making it again...and again...and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
The consistency was a little off but it was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorig23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winchester, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
For such a simple ice cream I have to give this five stars! I was in the mood for a simple treat and I decided to buy a package of those instant milk drinks. The flavour was peanut punch. I mixed it up nice and thick, skipped the sugar as the drink already had enough sugar and still added in the vanilla. Let me say I was quite surprised at the outcome. Such a soft, light, creamy and delicious peanut flavoured ice cream! But I have to agree, if you are eating it right away it does start to melt quickly. Next time I will try this recipe as is though, I am sure it will be just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
I thought the texture was refreshing and great for a less heavy ice cream. My husband added to much vanilla though, so don't make that mistake! This reminds me a lot of snow ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Kris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
It was a little runny and didn't quite freeze enough, but was relatively creamy. I think if I make it again I'll freeze it overnight to let it set. It has a good flavor to it. I added some orange extract to it and it had a dreamsicle flavor to it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

How to Make Ice Cream

See how easy it is to make America’s favorite frozen dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States