Vanilla Ice Cream VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2003
This is WORTH the 'trouble'!!! I am on a low sugar diet by choice (which we all should be) and I made this ice cream with Splenda* brand alternative sweetener. It goes thru your system, and does not get absorbed into the blood stream, because your body mistakes it for something unabsorbable, like dietary fiber. It's fabulous. And, like the jingles claim, it does taste just like sugar. Anyhow, you've got to be really careful not to let the custard boil. If you use medium heat all through the recipie, it'll boil at some point. After seeing the first few 'boils' in the cream mix, take it off the heat and immediately turn the stove down to medium-low. Half way to medium. Then, watch it carefully, and stir OFTEN. I found that it is thick enough to 'coat the back of a spoon' in it's plain cream mix form, but when the final custard has been cooking for 3 or 5 minutes, and it does seem nice and thick to you, it's done. If you have a newer 'ice-less' ice cream mixer, and you are going to be using online recipes, you should definately find out what the capacity of your freezer bowl is. I have the Cuisinart ICE-20, and any recipe with a total of roughly 2 1/2 to 3 cups of dairy products in it is definately going to fill it up. Don't forget how ice cream seems to double in volume when it is freezing up. If the recipe seems too big, take advantage of allrecipe's fabulous scaling option at the bottom of the main recipe page. Just tweak it until the cuppage is correct for your mixer. Also
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sy Chandell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bandon, Oregon, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2004
This vanilla ice cream was great but I had changed a few things. I used half & half instead of heavy cream, whole milk, and only 5 egg yolks. It came out very creamy and smooth. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2003
This ice cream was really good. We liked it much better than the highly rated Vanilla Ice Cream IV. I didn't have a vanilla bean so I just doubled the vanilla extract and it came out wonderful. This is defiantly the best vanilla homemade ice cream that I have tried from this site. Thanks Melissa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2007
Great texture and taste! After a bad experience with another ice cream recipe I heeded a previous reviewers warning and cut the eggs. We used 3 eggs in place of 5 the recipe called for. Also substituted 2 tsp of vanilla extract for the vanilla bean. We cooled the mixture in the fridge overnight. After churning in our ice cream mixer it was absolutely the best vanilla ice cream I have ever tasted. I am not a vanilla fan, but this was delicious and not a drop was left after our BBQ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
This is a smooth, very rich, and creamy frozen custard, the kind we in Wisconsin love and are famous for. For those who find the "egginess" not to their liking, the egg yolks can be reduced without a problem. Since I like my custard extra rich, I used half and half in exchange for the milk, which also contributes to the smooth mouth feel. This is also a wonderful base for other flavors and additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2005
To make your ice cream more creamy let the ice cream base sit overnight in the fridge. The next day it will be vanilla sauce/pudding like. This is a great, creamy ice cream recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2003
This was so rich, we could barely eat a scoop apiece! It was tasty enough, but I'd cut waaaaay back on the eggs next time. I made it for my daughter's eighth birthday party and some of her friends didn't even finish theirs. Mixed with chocolate, malt, and nonfat milk, it makes terrific shakes, though, which is how we used the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elk Grove, California, USA
Living In: Crestwood, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2002
Wonderful but you must double the recipe to get a full batch. I cut down on the eggs when doubled i use only 16 eggs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Megan
Reviewed: May 15, 2007
This ice cream is good, but I think it is more like a custard. We enjoyed making it as a family and we hope to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
Just the best vanilla ice cream out there! I even forgot to add the vanilla extract, but I did use a vanilla bean. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Snow Ice Cream II

Mother Nature helps make this frozen old-timey treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States