Vanilla Ice Cream VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
This recipe came out really good. I had so many rav's at my daughters Birthday Party about the homemade ice cream. I changed a little about the recipe. I saved some of the milk and put it in the eggs and put the heavy cream and the vanilla beans in the pot to almost boil. Instead of milk I used half and half so it was a little bit creamier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Deerfield Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
very good. I replaced the milk with goat milk and used half the quantity of cream (replaced with goat milk). There was also a small quantity of xanthan gum that I mixed into the yolks. All said, pretty stinking good ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dupee419

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Saint Albans, Vermont, USA
Living In: Wallingford, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Great ice cream! After reading lots of the reviews, I used 2% milk instead of whole milk and cream, reduced sugar to one cup, and reduced egg yolks to 4. I have tried several other ice cream recipes this week and this one is the winner, great flavor, consistency, and perfect sweetness and vanilla. I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
I love this recipe! The changes I made were that I scalded the milk/cream mixture, then when I added some to my eggs, I didn't have to worry so much. After I added the eggs to everything else, I inserted a candy thermometer and cooked it till it reached 180 degrees. No worries about boiling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Sodano Vaccarello

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
Truly delicious ice cream. I made it exactly as written. The ice cream is rich, silky smooth, has lovely vanilla flavor and also makes a great base for add-ins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
Good base recipe to add pumpkin pie spice. For richer custard, substitute cream for milk, add to other cream. Add 1 Tablespoon Pumpkin Pie Spice while cooking. Follow rest of instructions as written
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by silagh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Fabulous. Dropped the egg yolks to 5 and upped the vanilla beans to 3. Delicious. Stays creamy and almost marshmallow consistency when left out a frig for a few minutes to serve. There is no point to try ANY other recipe...this is the bomb. Was not "custard" like when I dropped the yolks. But may try some time with more. But ice cream perfection !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
This was my first experience making a custard based vanilla ice cream recipe and I must say I was very pleased with the results. I took a hint from comments on the 'eggy-ness' though, and only used 3 egg yolks. I could absolutely taste them, so can only imagine what it would be like with all 10, lol. It seems to me the amount of yolks has more to do with the taste than anything else as it turned out great, texture-wise, despite only using 3. Rich, smooth and "very vanilla" even without the extract, which I forgot to add in. I would just add a good pinch of salt next time, or perhaps reduce the sugar to 1 cup. I did not strain the mixture as it didn't seem to need it, plus it looks appealing with the vanilla seeds in there. I also swirled in a 1/4 cup of raspberry puree when finished. Absolutely amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
love this icecream one thing it s very very sweet but makes a great milk shake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Husband made this start to finish then ate it while I was out, so I didn't get to try. He said it was too yolky, so I guess we're trying another recipe next time, or cutting down on the egg yolks. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Snow Ice Cream II

Mother Nature helps make this frozen old-timey treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States