Vanilla Ice Cream VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
The flavor is really great but the texture was not quite like ice cream, probably due to the fact that there's no heavy cream in the recipe. It's more icy than creamy, but it was the best recipe I could find without heavy cream. I used half and half instead of water because I didn't see the need for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
Love the recipe. I did cook the eggs, sugar and 3 cups of milk. Substituted Half and Half for 3 cups milk and water. My husband loved it. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
I altered this a bit by substituting milk with 4c. half and half and 2c heavy whipping cream. Left out water as other reviewer suggested. This was very creamy and delicious. Big hit with both kids and adults at our party. Recipe size fit perfectly in my electric ice cream maker container. Five stars as I made it with alterations, only four stars as written because I don't like the iciness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berry Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Tastes a lot like my grandfather's hand-cranked cooked-custard vanilla! A cooked custard will always be better, but this is much quicker and is truly delicious when fresh. It freezes hard and dry though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmersville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Not too bad, a full recipe made a double batch for my Kitchen Aid ice cream maker. The flavor was great but the texture was not really creamy, it contains no cream so it is really ice milk. I don't mind the texture, I happen to like ice milk, but it's not creamy if someone is expecting that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
An easy delicious homemade ice cream!! It also doesn't get super hard when frozen to use later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
I haven't made this and I won't using raw eggs. The recipe should come with a warning that there is a risk of salmonella food poisoning from eating raw eggs. That is why most ice cream recipes call for cooking the eggs. Some reviewers have mentioned they used the pasteurized egg product successfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
not quite sure what the water was for. We left it out and it was wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emilyanne78

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklinton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
This is the first recipe we tried in our new (to us!) ice cream maker. Bf wanted to try the Coconut Ice Cream on here, but I don't have cream of coconut so he settled for this one. I misread the evaporated milk ingredient and put in nonfat dry milk. Oops. It still worked--I guess it just made it thicker. I used egg beaters instead of raw eggs--just can't bring myself to do that. The ice cream is pretty sweet, and the ingredients quickly melt. We tried it immediately after making in the ice cream maker and after freezing a few hours. It was still melting very quickly--probably bc of the type of ingredients. Bf liked it well enough, but we'll try some others. He commented it was too sweet--usually my line, so when he says it, I know it's too sweet for him. He added mini chocolate chips, though--just add in the last few minutes. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
Great and tasted delicious, but it took about 4.5-5 hours to freeze. Great quick dessert though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boardman, Ohio, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States