Vanilla Ice Cream V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Outstanding! Followed recipe exactly as is. Rich, Creamy, Simply 5stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Followed this exactly then added four over-ripe bananas. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brookneal, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
This is a delicious real cream ice cream. I have tried several and this will be the keeper. I did take the suggestions of other readers by dissolving the sugar in 1/4 cup water. I also will try the gelatin to help it set up better. The hardening process is a bit tough for me to get right. I like to do it in the machine, packed in salt and ice. It is a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marysville, Ohio, USA
Living In: London, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
Really enjoyed this recipe. Made exactly as stated. While very tasty, I prefer mine to be made with a larger proportion of heavy cream to light cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bowhead

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Way too much vanilla. Otherwise really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
This was great, especially the batch with fresh vanilla beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I <3 Garlic 'N Onions

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
This ice cream turned out more like ice than cream. It was also way too heavy on the vanilla flavor, but I did use Mexican vanilla, so maybe that was just me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
We double this recipe for our maker. Yummy! MIL asked for the recipe last night. Now, THAT'S a complement!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Signal Mountain, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Searcy, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Absolutely fabulous! I had actually made a different custard recipe that was way too rich for my family's taste and had ingredients left over so I found this one. To fit in my 2qt cuisinart I put 2 cups of half and half, 1 cup heavy cream, 1 cup sugar, 2 teaspoons vanilla and just filled the remainder of the bowl with whole milk. Of course the ease and deliciousness of this recipe is not going to be good for the waistline! maker beware!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Since 4th of July is right around the corner, I decided to make some vanilla ice cream. I have never been let down before with Allrecipes.com, so I thought I would search their site for this. The ice cream turned out fabulous! I did not follow the directions to a T. I did read the rest of the directions and made it my own. I had to double the recipe (since we have a lot of people coming over tomorrow.) I used 2 quarts of HnH, 1 1/2 quarts of Heavy cream, half a cup of milk, 2 cups of sugar, 3 REAL vanilla bean pods, 2 small pinches of kosher salt and two cap fulls of REAL vanilla extract. I melted the sugar in the pot with the creams and bean pods till slightly warm. I took 4 large egg yolks and gradually mixed them into the mixture. I turned the heat off and then I let it steep for about 10 minutes (to get the flavor of the vanilla to come out.) I then put the mixture in the ice cream machines and it came out PERFECT!!! It's creamy SUPER vanillay and rich. It's just what I wanted!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 302) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Guinness Ice Cream

Stout beer-flavored ice cream with subtle smoky, chocolaty flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States