Vanilla Ice Cream V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
I really wanted to like this ice cream, but I found it to be more of an ice milk taste/texture. I should've paid more attention to the ingredient list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
It was easy. But it had no flavor! It tasted like whipped cream! And it's icy, not creamy. If I were to ever try this again, which I doubt, I'm thinking 2 or 2 1/2 cups of sugar, and 6 or 8 teaspoons of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
This recipe was great! We added strawberries and loved it! Quick, simple, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
I loved that this recipe did not involve cooking, raw eggs, or waiting and chilling the mixture for any length of time. We halved the recipe for our little 4 person family and added fresh chopped strawberries. The next day we went to a local fruit packing place that prides themselves on their homemade ice cream. My kids and I agreed, ours was better! Thanks for this easy and affordable recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
I have made this recipe many times now. The quantity of ingredients above is the perfect amount for my 3 quart ice cream turner. I use bakers sugar which is a finer granular than normal sugar. I have found it nice to make the full batch of vanilla. I then divide it into two separate mixing bowls and add what ever ingredients we want to mix in (Oreo Cookies, Chocolate Chips etc...) to make two separate batches. I stir those in by hand and then put both bowls in the freezer to finish the ice cream off. This is such a simple recipe that we tend to make ice cream much more than when we used to make the custard style cook recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
I halved this recipe (and it's still plenty of ice cream for two or three people). The store didn't have heavy whipping cream, so I just used half & half and liquid vanilla coffee creamer (the full cream version, NOT the low fat or the sugar free). I also do not have an ice cream machine, so to make this without a machine, all I did was pour the mix into metal ice trays and cupcake trays. Leave this in the freezer for 45 mins, then take it out, blend it smooth and put it back in the freezer ... every 30 mins, take it out and blend again to keep ice crystals from forming. It turns out beautifully smooth and as good as from any machine. GREAT recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
I accidentally used 4 Tablespoons of vanilla & a whole pint of heavy cream & I can't imagine how this would of tasted/felt if I hadn't...Actually, I CAN imagine that it would be a bit bland & lacking in both flavor & mouth-feel. I should've known when I saw the proportions but I just couldn't seem to find my regular no-cook/no-egg recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BudsGurls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
So easy, and Oh So Good !!! Reminds me of Breyers Vanilla, which has always been my favorite !! After making this several times, I've made some adjustments. I use "3" ingredients: Fat-Free Half & Half, homemade Vanilla, and sugar. I replaced the Half & Half and the Heavy Cream with Fat Free Half & Half, add vanilla, sugar, and mix in freezer container for about 25 minutes. Absolutely delicious !!! Experimented by adding chopped walnuts, and that was Awesome !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
5 this is the best ice cream ever will not buy any more ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I loved this simple recipe. It took no time at all to put the ingredients together and get it churning. It took exactly 45 minutes to churn. It doesn't taste sweet enough for me but I did forget to add the salt. That may be a factor but next time I'll a bit more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 297) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Guinness Ice Cream

Stout beer-flavored ice cream with subtle smoky, chocolaty flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States