Vanilla Ice Cream V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I really like this ice cream recipe with a few alterations. I don't stock half&half, but do stock heavy cream, so I substitute equal parts of heavy cream and 2% milk for the half&half. It's the only recipe I have tried where the ice cream doers not get too hard and icy after being in the freezer a few days. I also increased the vanilla to 6 teaspoons, since I didn't think there was enough vanilla flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
just tried this recipe and was thrilled with it. Going to make again and use add ins to make different flavors!!! quick easy simple and a crowd pleaser
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Great taste. A little grainy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
I would have given this icecream a 5 star but I made a lot of changes. First off, I used 2 and a 1/4 cup of half/half and heavy cream. I used 5 and 1/2 tsps of vanilla and added rasiberries, chocolate chips, and walnuts. After that it was great, but as others stated, it came out more like ice as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
This. Is. Too. Die. For. I used vanilla bean paste to flavour....MMMmmmmm! I've been trying to get away from processed food, including ice-cream, and this seriously ROCKS. Thanks for sharing the recipe! (PS - I scaled the recipe to 18 servings and for my hubby and I it is the perfect amount. It also is the perfect amount for our ice cream maker).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
This recipe is great -- maybe a tad too sweet, but that's probably just my personal taste. I'll probably reduce sugar to 1 cup next time. I used all half-and-half rather than part heavy cream. Also, it's completely possible to make this without an ice cream maker! Put the mixture into tupperware and freeze. Every 30-minutes to an hour, pour it into a blender and blend until smooth. Depending on the size of your blender you may need to process in two or three batches, because this recipe is huge. After a few hours it will blend to the consistency of a very thick milkshake -- at that point, just let it freeze untouched for a few more hours, and you'll have ice cream! The more often you blended it, the creamier it will be. It's more time-consuming than using an ice cream machine, but it also makes the final product all the more rewarding! And it's so cheap to make compared to store-bought. I can't wait to make again with different add-ins -- bits of candy bars, caramel syrup, peppermint extract and chocolate chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Made exactly as is and loved it! Great vanilla flavor. Topped with chopped peaches mixed with cinnamon & sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coppell, Texas, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
We had company over this evening and I picked this recipe for dessert. I made it almost exactly according to the recipe (I didn't have half-and-half so I made my own with whole milk and cream). I dissolved the sugar in a bit of hot water. I also added 1/4 tsp each of almond and rum extract as a previous reviewer suggested, to bring out the vanilla flavor. I forgot the salt. The results were absolutely fantastic! Possibly the best ice cream I've ever made. We all got seconds. And were horrified at the end of the evening to discover we'd accidentally eaten the ENTIRE batch of ice cream. Yes, 32 servings between the 6 of us. It was pretty awful--but it sure was tasty! Do I recommend this recipe? Only if you want the most incredibly delicious and completely irresistible vanilla ice cream you've ever tasted. On a diet? You should probably cheat on something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Simple and delicious! I made this recipe exatly as written, and it turned out great. I served it with chocolate pound cake and they tasted HEAVENLY together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Sullivan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gainesville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
It was a little disappointing we got all excited about having homemade ice cream, but when we tasted it it was almost flavor less. The only way this recipe would taste good is if you put a lot of chocolate syrup on it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thesweetestchef

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 61-70 (of 309) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Guinness Ice Cream

Stout beer-flavored ice cream with subtle smoky, chocolaty flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States