Vanilla Ice Cream V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
This recipe is simple and fail-proof since you must put it in the freezer to set. We like to add smashed Oreos to make it special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAROLC80

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malvern, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dover, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
I have never made ice cream with out eggs! Turned out amazing. We stirred in sliced strawberries at the end before freezing hard. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shasty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seneca, Missouri, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA
Photo by KGora
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
I'm giving this a 4 for flavor. This one is hard to rate for me. I had trouble from the beginning getting this frozen in my ice cream maker. I had put the bowl in the freezer the night before so I determined it needed to be frozen 24 hours so back into the freezer it went and the mixture went into the refrigerator. I tried freezing the ice cream again the next morning, no go. I had scaled this recipe in half to fit my ice cream freezer. I increased the heavy cream to 2 cups for 1/2 recipe and took the half and half down to 2-1/4 cups hoping to make a creamier texture. I added 2 vanilla beans in place of the vanilla. Since I gave up on my ice cream freezer I tossed it in a freezer container and in the freezer it went. For some reason this turned out very icy for me. I'm not sure if it was because of the way I ended up freezing it or if it was the ratio of more heavy cream to half and half I used. I can't imagine it being from more heavy cream since that is richer than half and half. The flavor was awesome but I'm not sure I would make it again. It turned out more like ice milk for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by bd.weld
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Easy to make. I did scale this back to fit my 1 1/2 quart ice cream maker. Flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bd.weld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA
Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
The flavor is great!! Easy to make, but not quite as creamy as I wold have liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Photo by Robin Nicole Strickland
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
this was really yummy ice cream! I really liked the flavor. Next time we're planning to add in some goodies, like chocolate chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Nicole Strickland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Smoaks, South Carolina, USA
Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
Yum! Easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by BigShotsMom
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
I made this twice. The first time I was not happy with the result. It was too icy and not rich, but I liked the concept so iI did it again reversing the ratio of cream and half and half. That produced a much better result. I used vanilla paste to amp up the flavor and served it with Chef John's Easy Homemade Chocolate Sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Photo by Cookie734
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Delicious and easy recipe. Nothing like fresh-made ice cream. You can definitely tell the difference between this and store-bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie734
Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Valerie's Kitchen
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
I made this as written and then did a second time with some adaptations with great results. First, I scaled in half for my 2 quart counter top ice cream maker. To get a better texture, I reduced the half and half to 3 cups and increased the heavy cream to 1-1/2 cups. To make sure you don't end up with a grainy texture, use a hand mixer to combine the half and half with the sugar for just a couple of minutes and then stir in the remaining ingredients. This is a soft serve ice cream, even straight from the freezer. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 21-30 (of 302) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Guinness Ice Cream

Stout beer-flavored ice cream with subtle smoky, chocolaty flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States