Vanilla Ice Cream V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Followed the 2:1 ration of heavy cream to half and half. Used 4 1/2 c cream & 2 1/4 c half and half for our 3 quart icecream maker. Finished product tasted too much like heavy cream to me. Great overall flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
This results in an icy-textured icemilk. Very disappointing. Won't try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clearview

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
Good flavor but is more like ice milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Excellent texture, very easy and versatile with much potential as a base recipe for many other flavors - have used this to make honey vanilla cinnamon, mint chocolate, and today will be trying raspberry chocolate chip. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jeffersonville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Very disappointed in this recipe. I prefer no-egg ice creams, but this was more in the line of iced milk, even using the stated amounts of cream and half & half. Extremely bland and icy with virtually no vanilla taste at all. I even dissolved the sugar in with the liquid base at the beginning, and still no creaminess at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
I do not like eggy ice cream so this is the perfect recipe for me. Its sooo simple and amazing. I didnt have a problem with freezing and eating after.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kayka
Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Kodiak, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Super easy and delicious! I followed the recipe as it for a party this weekend. I paired it with blackberry cobbler. All of my guests gave the ice cream rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soonergirl323

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I like a light clean flavor over a rich creamy ice cream, and this fits the bill. It is like comparing Ben and Jerry's to Breyer's. Both good but I like the lighter texture of the Breyer's. I added some crystal ginger that I minced and rehydrated in a little hot water.and some diced peach
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
I really love this recipe. I do cook a little liquid to dissolve the sugar. I use a clear vanilla from Mexico that really makes it special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Very good. I used all fat free half & half, even in place of the heavy cream but I'm going to try it with cream next time for a smoother texture. I also subbed agava for sugar. This one's a keeper =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristykk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montross, Virginia, USA
Living In: Oakton, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 302) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Guinness Ice Cream

Stout beer-flavored ice cream with subtle smoky, chocolaty flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States