Vanilla Ice Cream V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2002
Ok this recipe was so easy and for all of you who loved it try this: I added 1/4 cup of Carnation Coffee-Mate French Vanilla creamer this added a wonderfull flavor and everyone wanted to know what I did to make it taste so rich. worked great will keep this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
612 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
I have made this recipe numerous times with numerous alterations and have finally find the one that works for me. I decrease the extract (personal preference). I heat the half-n-half/cream and sugar on the stove until the sugar is dissolved the night before I want to make the ice cream. I chill the mixture all night. I put the ice cream in my ice cream maker for about 25 min. Put it in the freezer for about 2 hours. Take it out and let it soften a little and serve. It was wonderful!! I make it way to often and my chocaholic son never seems to mind that it is vanilla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
448 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Twinsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
I chose to make this recipe my first try at vanilla ice cream due to no cooking required and no raw eggs in it. I used homemade vanilla (from this website), so the ice cream had little specks of vanilla bean in it, and was nice and creamy. The instructions say to mix the ingredients together IN the freezer container of the ice cream maker; don't do that if you have the kind of ice cream maker with the already-frozen canister! Mix them in a bowl and then add to the ice cream maker! Oh, I also scaled it down to 8 servings for my 1.5qt ice cream maker; it didn't make a lot; I think 16 servings would be about right for a full recipe. Thanks for the recipe, Jackie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
352 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
Delicious recipe for homemade ice cream...I just modified it a little bit by using 1% milk instead of heavy cream, almost 2 cups sugar, and 4 big spoonfuls of vanilla. My entire family said it was the best ice cream they have ever had! Also, I warmed up the milk and dissolved the sugar in it so it wouldn't be gritty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
My family loves this recipe. It's very easy. Tip for keeping it soft even after it's been in the freezer for a while: don't add the cream to the mix before it goes into the ice cream mixer. While the freezer is working, use an electric mixer to whip the cream into stiff peaks. After the freezer stops, let the iced mix harden for about ten minutes. Fold the whipped cream into the iced mix until combined. Allow to harden for at least two hours in the freezer or it will be too soft to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
Good ice cream as is. I like to reduce the fat by using fat free half and half, and 2% milk instead of heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alta

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
I chose this recipe out of curiosity because I finally wanted to try and step outside my comfort zone of the 2:1 ratio of heavy cream to half and half or whole milk that I am very rigid about. I still am. This was not nearly as rich or creamy, or have that wonderful mouth feel that I'm accustomed to and prefer. It was worth a try, but it's reaffirmed my preference and will not make a convert of me. (I scaled this to 10 servings to fit my 1-1/2 quart ice cream maker)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2004
Very good! I made this recipe three times in two days (with variations) for a large family gathering. The first time it had a grainy texture, so I dissolve the sugar in a 1/4 cup of water and the grainy texture was gone. On my last batch I substituted 1/2 c of vanilla creamer for the half and half . . . IT WAS FANTASTIC!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
This is a wonderfuly easy and delicious recipe! It is light and creamy without being too rich, I paired it with peach cobbler with heavenly results. I scaled it down to 8 servings to fit my machine and rounded the vanilla extract up a tad and added a scant 1/4 tsp. rum extract and 1/4 tsp. almond extract -- just a touch of these really deepened the vanilla flavor without overpowering it. Just perfect, YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
Wonderful. Have had it just vanilla and as a base for other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 302) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Guinness Ice Cream

Stout beer-flavored ice cream with subtle smoky, chocolaty flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States