Vanilla Ice Cream V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
This recipe is great -- maybe a tad too sweet, but that's probably just my personal taste. I'll probably reduce sugar to 1 cup next time. I used all half-and-half rather than part heavy cream. Also, it's completely possible to make this without an ice cream maker! Put the mixture into tupperware and freeze. Every 30-minutes to an hour, pour it into a blender and blend until smooth. Depending on the size of your blender you may need to process in two or three batches, because this recipe is huge. After a few hours it will blend to the consistency of a very thick milkshake -- at that point, just let it freeze untouched for a few more hours, and you'll have ice cream! The more often you blended it, the creamier it will be. It's more time-consuming than using an ice cream machine, but it also makes the final product all the more rewarding! And it's so cheap to make compared to store-bought. I can't wait to make again with different add-ins -- bits of candy bars, caramel syrup, peppermint extract and chocolate chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Made exactly as is and loved it! Great vanilla flavor. Topped with chopped peaches mixed with cinnamon & sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coppell, Texas, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
We had company over this evening and I picked this recipe for dessert. I made it almost exactly according to the recipe (I didn't have half-and-half so I made my own with whole milk and cream). I dissolved the sugar in a bit of hot water. I also added 1/4 tsp each of almond and rum extract as a previous reviewer suggested, to bring out the vanilla flavor. I forgot the salt. The results were absolutely fantastic! Possibly the best ice cream I've ever made. We all got seconds. And were horrified at the end of the evening to discover we'd accidentally eaten the ENTIRE batch of ice cream. Yes, 32 servings between the 6 of us. It was pretty awful--but it sure was tasty! Do I recommend this recipe? Only if you want the most incredibly delicious and completely irresistible vanilla ice cream you've ever tasted. On a diet? You should probably cheat on something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Simple and delicious! I made this recipe exatly as written, and it turned out great. I served it with chocolate pound cake and they tasted HEAVENLY together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Sullivan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gainesville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
It was a little disappointing we got all excited about having homemade ice cream, but when we tasted it it was almost flavor less. The only way this recipe would taste good is if you put a lot of chocolate syrup on it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thesweetestchef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
This was good; it was a light vanilla taste. I didn't let it stir long enough in my ice cream maker I think because although parts of it came out creamy I also had a bit of it which had more of an ice milk consistency. I'm a bit of a beginner at making ice cream, so I'll try again, I am looking for a just a tad richer and creamier ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHTTRBUGIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
This is a fantastic recipe. If you're a strawberry fan, take note: adding one carton of frozen strawberries with sugar (found in the frozen aisle) about 30 minutes before the ice cream is finished makes the most amazing strawberry ice cream. I didn't have any fresh berries on hand, otherwise I'm sure they would make it even more scrum-diddly-umpcious. But seriously folks, get some berries into this amazingness. Your taste buds will thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flage's

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
I really wanted to like this ice cream, but I found it to be more of an ice milk taste/texture. I should've paid more attention to the ingredient list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
It was easy. But it had no flavor! It tasted like whipped cream! And it's icy, not creamy. If I were to ever try this again, which I doubt, I'm thinking 2 or 2 1/2 cups of sugar, and 6 or 8 teaspoons of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
This recipe was great! We added strawberries and loved it! Quick, simple, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 304) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Guinness Ice Cream

Stout beer-flavored ice cream with subtle smoky, chocolaty flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States