Vanilla Ice Cream V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
This recipe is all about the simplicity and it works. Simple tasty ice cream recipe that begs to be modified. This recipe just flat out works. We are going to mix in Somoas in tonight's rendition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin Toadvine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
This is really good, I wanted a recipe that didn't use eggs, this filled the bill. I have made it 3 times in the last week and it was great each time. I did makes sure the sugar was all dissolved before I started to freeze it to avoid any grainy texture. I used half 35%(whipping) cream and half 1% milk as that is what we always have on hand it worked well! We like it, and our company did also. I am going to add fruit the next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie
Home Town: Big Valley, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Based on feedback I changed this to use a 2:1 ratio of heavy cream to half-n-half because some other recipes turned out a bit icy and I was looking for creamier. I also halved the recipe because my ice cream maker isn't that big and added two egg yolks to help emulsify. I mixed the ingredients together in the mixer for a minute or so prior to putting in the ice cream maker because my maker does not mix. As it was mixing, the cream started to whip up slightly so it had a bit of air in it. After about 10 minutes of mixing in the machine I added 3/4 cup of mini chocolate chips and some chopped walnuts (optional). As it came out of the ice cream maker I thought it was a failure because it was very light and tasted somewhat like whipped cream. But after being in the freezer for 3 hours it thickened considerably and was dense, creamy and amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I really like this ice cream recipe with a few alterations. I don't stock half&half, but do stock heavy cream, so I substitute equal parts of heavy cream and 2% milk for the half&half. It's the only recipe I have tried where the ice cream doers not get too hard and icy after being in the freezer a few days. I also increased the vanilla to 6 teaspoons, since I didn't think there was enough vanilla flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
just tried this recipe and was thrilled with it. Going to make again and use add ins to make different flavors!!! quick easy simple and a crowd pleaser
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Great taste. A little grainy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
I would have given this icecream a 5 star but I made a lot of changes. First off, I used 2 and a 1/4 cup of half/half and heavy cream. I used 5 and 1/2 tsps of vanilla and added rasiberries, chocolate chips, and walnuts. After that it was great, but as others stated, it came out more like ice as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
This. Is. Too. Die. For. I used vanilla bean paste to flavour....MMMmmmmm! I've been trying to get away from processed food, including ice-cream, and this seriously ROCKS. Thanks for sharing the recipe! (PS - I scaled the recipe to 18 servings and for my hubby and I it is the perfect amount. It also is the perfect amount for our ice cream maker).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
This recipe is great -- maybe a tad too sweet, but that's probably just my personal taste. I'll probably reduce sugar to 1 cup next time. I used all half-and-half rather than part heavy cream. Also, it's completely possible to make this without an ice cream maker! Put the mixture into tupperware and freeze. Every 30-minutes to an hour, pour it into a blender and blend until smooth. Depending on the size of your blender you may need to process in two or three batches, because this recipe is huge. After a few hours it will blend to the consistency of a very thick milkshake -- at that point, just let it freeze untouched for a few more hours, and you'll have ice cream! The more often you blended it, the creamier it will be. It's more time-consuming than using an ice cream machine, but it also makes the final product all the more rewarding! And it's so cheap to make compared to store-bought. I can't wait to make again with different add-ins -- bits of candy bars, caramel syrup, peppermint extract and chocolate chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Made exactly as is and loved it! Great vanilla flavor. Topped with chopped peaches mixed with cinnamon & sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coppell, Texas, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 302) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Guinness Ice Cream

Stout beer-flavored ice cream with subtle smoky, chocolaty flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States