Vanilla Ice Cream V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
Have used a similar recipe for 3 years. Instead of sugar and cream, use 2-3 cans of sweetened condensed milk. Blend all ingredients prior to putting in mixer container. No chance of graininess with this modification.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
This recipe wasn't for me. I will stick to my old fashioned cooked vanilla custard ice cream. This wasn't very creamy and not much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
This was the absolute easiest ice cream recipe. The vanilla turned out so good I made a second trip to the store to get more stuff to make chocolate. I just added 2 tsp of vanilla instead of 4 and added unsweetened oocoa powder. I had forgotten just how good homemade ice cream could be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I typically don’t change a recipe on the first try, but I did tweak this slightly. To lighten even more, I used fat-free half-and-half, mixed in a little bit of a peach puree along with some chopped fresh peaches. Next time if I add peaches, I will use almond extract instead of vanilla. It was nice not having to make a custard, and then wait for it to cool before pouring into the ice cream maker. Texture was not quite as creamy as it would have been using the typical full-fat whipping cream recipes, but this was more than satisfactory considering all the calories and fat I saved. I guess what I’m saying is that it was less of a guilt trip using this recipe, and it tasted good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
I tend to lean towards cooked ice creams but I must admit that I love this one too! It is an excellent recipe and requires less patience and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
WOW! This was great. My three kids and I spent Father's Day making this and are enjoying it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
Warmed the cream and half and half to dissolve the sugar. Chilled overnight. Awesome vanilla ice cream! Saves well and doesn't freeze solid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
This is delicious!!! After making it I put right into the freezer for 2 hours but could wait no longer. The consistency was like a milkshake and sooooo.good!!! The only changes I made were using Truvia Baking Blend sweetner instead of sugar and I took about 1/8 cup of water and dissolved the sweetener and salt in it and reduced 1/8 cup of the heavy cream ......next time I will not reduce any cream....and try to dissolve the sugar in a little of the half n half first. I think the water even such a small amount made it too thin. We will never buy commercial preservative laden, artificial ingredient laden ice cream again!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mimi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
So good! I did as some other reviews suggested and used about 1/3 c. of vanilla creamer for 1/3 c. of the 1/2 & 1/2. Next time, I might add even more vanilla or maybe some vanilla bean, but it's a great, EASY & FAST vanilla recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
The only sub I made is that I used vanilla bean rather than vanilla extract. That made for fantastic flavor, but I found the texture to be just shy of perfect. I would've given 5 stars for simplicity PLUS perfect, creamy texture. Don't get me wrong, the family ate every bite, but I could tell it wasn't as creamy as I wanted it to be. IMO you really need a eggs to get that truly creamy texture in homemade ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALEASTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morehead City, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 302) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Guinness Ice Cream

Stout beer-flavored ice cream with subtle smoky, chocolaty flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States