Vanilla Ice Cream V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
This recipe is simple and fail-proof since you must put it in the freezer to set. We like to add smashed Oreos to make it special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAROLC80

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malvern, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dover, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
I have never made ice cream with out eggs! Turned out amazing. We stirred in sliced strawberries at the end before freezing hard. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shasty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seneca, Missouri, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA
Photo by KGora
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
I'm giving this a 4 for flavor. This one is hard to rate for me. I had trouble from the beginning getting this frozen in my ice cream maker. I had put the bowl in the freezer the night before so I determined it needed to be frozen 24 hours so back into the freezer it went and the mixture went into the refrigerator. I tried freezing the ice cream again the next morning, no go. I had scaled this recipe in half to fit my ice cream freezer. I increased the heavy cream to 2 cups for 1/2 recipe and took the half and half down to 2-1/4 cups hoping to make a creamier texture. I added 2 vanilla beans in place of the vanilla. Since I gave up on my ice cream freezer I tossed it in a freezer container and in the freezer it went. For some reason this turned out very icy for me. I'm not sure if it was because of the way I ended up freezing it or if it was the ratio of more heavy cream to half and half I used. I can't imagine it being from more heavy cream since that is richer than half and half. The flavor was awesome but I'm not sure I would make it again. It turned out more like ice milk for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by bd.weld
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Easy to make. I did scale this back to fit my 1 1/2 quart ice cream maker. Flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bd.weld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA
Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
The flavor is great!! Easy to make, but not quite as creamy as I wold have liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Photo by Robin Nicole Strickland
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
this was really yummy ice cream! I really liked the flavor. Next time we're planning to add in some goodies, like chocolate chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Nicole Strickland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Smoaks, South Carolina, USA
Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
Yum! Easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by BigShotsMom
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
I made this twice. The first time I was not happy with the result. It was too icy and not rich, but I liked the concept so iI did it again reversing the ratio of cream and half and half. That produced a much better result. I used vanilla paste to amp up the flavor and served it with Chef John's Easy Homemade Chocolate Sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Photo by Cookie734
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Delicious and easy recipe. Nothing like fresh-made ice cream. You can definitely tell the difference between this and store-bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie734
Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Valerie's Kitchen
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
I made this as written and then did a second time with some adaptations with great results. First, I scaled in half for my 2 quart counter top ice cream maker. To get a better texture, I reduced the half and half to 3 cups and increased the heavy cream to 1-1/2 cups. To make sure you don't end up with a grainy texture, use a hand mixer to combine the half and half with the sugar for just a couple of minutes and then stir in the remaining ingredients. This is a soft serve ice cream, even straight from the freezer. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 21-30 (of 302) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Guinness Ice Cream

Stout beer-flavored ice cream with subtle smoky, chocolaty flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States