Vanilla Ice Cream V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
Loved this ice cream! Tweaked it by adding some almond extract, strawberries and chopped pecans. Also as I like rich ice cream used 2 cps half-and-half and 2 1/2 cps heavy cream to make a 16 portion amount. Went over great with company, will do it again.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
Just made this for our neighborhood block party and EVERYONE loved it. Even the adults were going back for seconds. It's more icy than creamy but you'll love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Ferqueron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ozark, Alabama, USA
Living In: Newbury Park, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
We made this last night for the hubby's birthday. It was the perfect ice-cream to have with chocolate cake. If serving alone, I think it would need a little something extra. But for the most part? WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stigler, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
I had to half the original recipe to fit into my 1-1/2 qt machine. I have to say, I read the negative reviews and unfortunately they are right...this has an icy texture. I will continue to search for a vanilla ice cream recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin 'Bower' Zimmerman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
It looks GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Very good no-egg/no-cook base recipe. Here is a modification idea that I tried and had great results with: replace some of the 1/2 and 1/2 with flavored coffee creamer and adjust the sugar accordingly - you'll use maybe half the called for sugar. I found a buttercream flavored creamer to use - the ice cream was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Very delisious. Fit our gallon ice cream maker perfectly. We were testing it out for our annual 4th of July party and everyone agreed that this is what we should make instead of the ice cream packets. We found the mixture to be very smooth and so creamy. Followed directions exactly as is. Update: Husband wanted Chocolate Ice cream, so I used 1/2 cup of Coca powder to make it and I can't explain how good it was. It tasted like a frosty it was so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Hallsville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
I chose this recipe out of curiosity because I finally wanted to try and step outside my comfort zone of the 2:1 ratio of heavy cream to half and half or whole milk that I am very rigid about. I still am. This was not nearly as rich or creamy, or have that wonderful mouth feel that I'm accustomed to and prefer. It was worth a try, but it's reaffirmed my preference and will not make a convert of me. (I scaled this to 10 servings to fit my 1-1/2 quart ice cream maker)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
Disappointing. Lots of ice crystals made for a very unsatisfactory texture. Flavor good. Have made lots of other "no cook" ice cream recipes, and never encountered so much ice. Look elsewhere for a recipe before using this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fred Mahaffey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Painesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I really liked the taste of this ice cream, but it wasn't really the texture I wanted. I wanted a harder texture, but this was sort of like frozen whipped cream. If you are looking for something light, this recipe is for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 131-140 (of 302) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Guinness Ice Cream

Stout beer-flavored ice cream with subtle smoky, chocolaty flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States