Vanilla Ice Cream V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
This recipe is WAY too much for a typical home ice cream maker. My Cuisinart came with a similar recipe for a smaller batch, and I've adjusted it as follows: 1 cup whole milk, 2/3 cup sugar, pinch salt, 2 cups heavy cream, 2-3 tsp vanilla. This recipe leaves out the step of whisking the sugar and salt into the milk until it dissolves, and I've found that an essential step. Then mix in the cream and vanilla. This is the creamiest, yummiest vanilla ice cream I've ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
This was so easy and so good! I used best quality vanilla, since there are so few ingredients, it makes a big difference. There are maybe better tasting ice cream recipes, but they usually require eggs/custard step. I don't have time to make those very often, and this is better and far more satisfying than most store versions! I have made this a dozen times this summer, and will be making it a million times more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly E.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
So good!!! If there is one thing I would alter, it would be sugar content. If you like your ice cream very sweet, this would be perfect. I'm still giving this recipe five stars, because we loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
So easy and so delicious! You can use any combination you want ie. Whipping cream, half and half etc. I have made this three times once as is, once with peppermint extract and chocolate chips and once with agave nectar instead of sugar. All three were to die for good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Laie, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Super simple. Nice soft texture that was good for candy mix ins when I served it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
I tried two batches of this recipe and could not get it to freeze. One of the reviews said to add some flavored coffee creamer, which I did. I added about 1/4 cup to the first batch and about 1/2 cup to the second. Could this have beeen what kept the ice cream from freezing? It ran in the ice cream freezer for over 2 hours. I took it out of the ice cream freezer and put it in a bowl in he freezer overnight. One batch is softly frozen, the other is frozen only around the ecges and still liquid in the center. as far as I can tell the coffee creamer is the only variation to the original recipe.... has anyone else had similar experiences, or know what could have happened?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Very good, quick, and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Delicious and light! I made this for the first time for a birthday party. Everyone loved it! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETHAROO2U

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
My husband, the vanilla ice cream fiend, LOVES this. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
this made a lot less than one quart. we used it for ice cream floats so it was ok. but this is not a recipe to used for ice cream alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 309) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Guinness Ice Cream

Stout beer-flavored ice cream with subtle smoky, chocolaty flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States