Vanilla Ice Cream III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2002
This recipie is great! It was a bit too sweet thought what with condensed milk and sugar, so I suggest not putting the sugar in, that's what I did and it tasted even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
This is the second time I've made this and it comes out perfectly! Instead of the 6 cups of milk, I use 1 quart heavy cream and 2 cups milk. The texture is very smooth and creamy. No need to melt the sugar or anything. Thank you for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Bruno, California, USA
Living In: Morgan Hill, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
UPDATE.... THIS IS MY FAVORITE RECIPE!!! This recipe is the one that is most like real icecream. I now use this as a base for all kinds of flavors... The only thing I do differently is to use 2 pints of heavy whipping cream and 2 cups of whole milk. I find when you use both it defiantly tastes more like the ice cream you buy in stores and you don't end up w/ those ice crystals in it. So far I've made this plain for hot fudge sundays, I've made cookie dough... before freezing I just add chunks of cookie dough (also eggless that I got on this site... just follow suggestions in the reviews), I've made strawberry w/ crushed up fortune cookies in it (don't ask.. LOL), I've made choc chip using mini M&M's, I've made oreo.. I used a blender for half the package so I would have little specks of choc throughout the entire icecream and I crush up the rest of the package by hand so I've got some bigger chunks. Again, I add right before freezing and now my new favorite is mint choc chip. I just add 1 tbs of peppermint extract and before I freeze the icecream I added one Gharidelli (sp?) bittersweet chocolate bar that I chopped up into small pieces. It's even better than Bryers! Thanks for this recipe, I won't even try another one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GingerB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2005
Pretty good and quick, too. It is a little "hollow" tasting. My ice cream maker can't handle 32 servings, so I put the extra into a gallon jug in my fridge; now I can make ice cream at a moment's notice. We just put about 1 3/4 cup mix into our 1 1/2 qt. machine. Turns out a little less than the 1 1/2 qt capacity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Raton, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2001
Easy, had a good taste, but needed something added, maybe more vanilla or some fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2005
A really great ice-cream recipe, it was so simple. I think i would add a little less suger next time i make it but thats just my personal taste. I will definatly be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: ???, Cumbria, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
This is a great recipe. I love it because it is simple and fast. Yes, it is a bit sweet, but who cares!! I'm going to use it to make cookies and cream. Yes, I am going to leave the sugar out for that one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
We all liked this simple recipe. I have had creamier homemade ice cream, but this was so easy to do, and it really does have a nice texture. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
FANTASTIC!!! A few important things to note: check your ice cream maker as this recipe makes a lot of ice cream. I cut the recipe in half and it was still too much for our maker. I made the mix in a pitcher and just poured the appropriate amount in the mixer, leaving the rest in the pitcher to make another small batch later. Second, I used 2/3 heavy cream and 1/3 2% milk. Other reviewers mentioned they had ice crystals, but I did not have that problem. Right out of the ice cream maker, it was a bit like soft serve so I put the canister in the freezer for a few hours and wound up with some amazingly creamy and delicious ice cream! I also threw a small handful of chocolate chips in during the last 5 minutes of mixing, but I think miniature chips would be better. This is now my go-to vanilla ice cream recipe! YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
Way too sweet, I would cut back on the sugar. Even my daughter with a very sweet tooth said it was too sweet. I still gave it 4 because it's a simple recipe that is good, just very sweet. I will make it again with less sugar and also I did use more vanilla than called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

How to Make Ice Cream

See how easy it is to make America’s favorite frozen dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States