Vanilla Ice Cream III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
This is a great recipe but we have played around with it. Like others, I use 4 cups heavy whipping cream and 2 cups milk. I leave out the sugar, use only 1 tbsp of vanilla and add a bag of ghiradelli milk chocolate chips (melted down). So yummy! If you dont want it too sweet, use less chocolate chips and add some cocoa powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
This was so good.....took a long time to set up though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
Yummy and so simple. Of course it's not as creamy as recipes that use cream or half and half, but it's not nearly the calories and fat either! I can't wait to try this as a base for other kinds, as other reviewers suggested. I did cut the sugar to 1/2 cup and it was plenty sweet for us. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTYDAWNE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mount Airy, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Yum. Think this is my new favorite ice cream. Just had a taste before putting it in the freezer. I loved the flavor that the evaporated milk added!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
We used 1/3 C of sugar and it tured out delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
Great recipe! I omitted the sugar, added one pint of cream and 5 cups of whole milk. Very thick and creamy. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Central, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
I like it, but you can definitely taste the sweetened condensed milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
We had a cookout on Memorial Day, and invited several guests. I made this ice cream and there was not an ounce left! Everyone LOVED it!! I did make a few changes though. I used heavy cream instead of just regular milk, and also crushed up an whole package Butterfinger candy in it. This is important: You must marinate the candy with all ingredients (except the heavy cream) in the refrigerator for about 30 minutes before putting it in the ice cream maker. It's incredibly good!!! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
I made this recipe this week end and I have to disagree with the other reviews. I made it just as the recipe calls and I thought that it was not sweet enough. I will make it again but will add about a half cup more sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
I made this at work and it was sooo good!! I did use a pint of fat free half and half instead of evaporated milk and only used half cup sugar. I also used skim milk and fat free condensed milk and it was so creamy and good everyone loved it. Will be making this again and again!! thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vina, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States