Vanilla Ice Cream III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
We had a cookout on Memorial Day, and invited several guests. I made this ice cream and there was not an ounce left! Everyone LOVED it!! I did make a few changes though. I used heavy cream instead of just regular milk, and also crushed up an whole package Butterfinger candy in it. This is important: You must marinate the candy with all ingredients (except the heavy cream) in the refrigerator for about 30 minutes before putting it in the ice cream maker. It's incredibly good!!! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
Thanks to other reviews, I made this without the sugar and it was fantastic. I made it again for my brother's birthday and added magic shell to make chocolate chips, everyone loved it. Even my mom, who is not a fan of homemade ice cream said it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carina
Reviewed: May 24, 2009
Very good! I needed a vanilla ice cream recipe in a hurry and was looking for something I already had the ingredients for. Found this one and I won't have to look for another. I made it the first time for my church ice cream social(which was risky) but everyone raved about it. Thank you--it's a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
Very good! I barely added any sugar though.I wanted to eat ice cream, not ice sugar :). added choclate chips that I chopped a little smaller. Thanks you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swimminash

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
I made this at work and it was sooo good!! I did use a pint of fat free half and half instead of evaporated milk and only used half cup sugar. I also used skim milk and fat free condensed milk and it was so creamy and good everyone loved it. Will be making this again and again!! thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vina, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
I made this recipe this week end and I have to disagree with the other reviews. I made it just as the recipe calls and I thought that it was not sweet enough. I will make it again but will add about a half cup more sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2005
This was very easy and cheap recipe. The results were fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
We all liked this simple recipe. I have had creamier homemade ice cream, but this was so easy to do, and it really does have a nice texture. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
This is the second time I've made this and it comes out perfectly! Instead of the 6 cups of milk, I use 1 quart heavy cream and 2 cups milk. The texture is very smooth and creamy. No need to melt the sugar or anything. Thank you for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Bruno, California, USA
Living In: Morgan Hill, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
UPDATE.... THIS IS MY FAVORITE RECIPE!!! This recipe is the one that is most like real icecream. I now use this as a base for all kinds of flavors... The only thing I do differently is to use 2 pints of heavy whipping cream and 2 cups of whole milk. I find when you use both it defiantly tastes more like the ice cream you buy in stores and you don't end up w/ those ice crystals in it. So far I've made this plain for hot fudge sundays, I've made cookie dough... before freezing I just add chunks of cookie dough (also eggless that I got on this site... just follow suggestions in the reviews), I've made strawberry w/ crushed up fortune cookies in it (don't ask.. LOL), I've made choc chip using mini M&M's, I've made oreo.. I used a blender for half the package so I would have little specks of choc throughout the entire icecream and I crush up the rest of the package by hand so I've got some bigger chunks. Again, I add right before freezing and now my new favorite is mint choc chip. I just add 1 tbs of peppermint extract and before I freeze the icecream I added one Gharidelli (sp?) bittersweet chocolate bar that I chopped up into small pieces. It's even better than Bryers! Thanks for this recipe, I won't even try another one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GingerB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

How to Make Ice Cream

See how easy it is to make America’s favorite frozen dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States