Vanilla Ice Cream I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Forgot the lemon juice, but that was ok because I reduced the sugar to 3/4 cup anyway. I did not whip my cream. I probably will next time, as I rather like the fluffy soft-serve you get at fast food joints, and I may add another egg if I made this specific recipe again. It froze a bit more solid than the last ice cream I made, which had more eggs. Still it didn't freeze TOO solid -- just about as solid as store-bought, really. Thanks for the recipe, it was a great accompaniment to "Bananas Foster II" from this site. I did use naples34102's suggestion to strain my egg mixture and I must say, that was ingenius--I removed a ton of scrambled egg bits by doing that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
this was my first time making ice cream and the texture was beautiful, it was so rich so you only need a little :) my only complaint is that its waaaay too sweet! i recommend cutting the sugar down by half!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
This worked beautifully - but I did change things up. I didn't use the lemon and, like many of the reviewers, I did not whip the cream - in fact, I didn't use cream. I made it lactose-free by using 1 cup 2% lactose-free milk and 2 cups soy "creamer." It ended up a little too sweet; next time I would reduce the sugar by probably a quarter cup because lactose-free milk is a little sweeter to begin with. Also, it's a good idea to temper the egg mixture, just like with a regular custard. In the last couple minutes of churning I added a tablespoon of Irish cream liqueur. yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Very good Vanilla recipe. Tasted like tapioca pudding without the "fish eggs".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
it was disastrous.There were lumps in the mixture. Although being quite an expert in ice creams, i couldn't get it right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tricia Jaeger
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
I did not beat the cream, I've heard if you beat the cream too much in ice cream it could actually turn into butter. Also, I used just the yolk. I added Oreo's after processing the ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
Loved the flavor of this recipe! I wish I could make it without all the stirring over the stove :( I prefer the custard style though so I guess I will stir. We had high humidity the day I made this and it seemed to not want to freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mars

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Millsboro, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
I just made this recipe last night with the suggestions by all the other reviewers. I did NOT whip the cream as was directed in the recipe and it turned out great. Just to be fun I added a vanilla bean and all it's scrapings while I was heating the milk and it came out with great vanilla flavor. I also suggest going the traditional method of tempering the eggs before adding them to the heat. Overall a greate vanilla recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wendell, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
This would have been a good recipe but the lemon juice ruined it. It made it sour like yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Very easy. Didn't come out custard style though. Came out like frozen whip cream. Still very good. Added strawberries. Made a second batch and substituted whipping cream for pet milk. This time it came out more custard-style. Swirled in caramel and cinnamon pecans. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

How to Make Ice Cream

See how easy it is to make America’s favorite frozen dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States