Vanilla Ice Cream I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
LOVE IT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Forgot the lemon juice, but that was ok because I reduced the sugar to 3/4 cup anyway. I did not whip my cream. I probably will next time, as I rather like the fluffy soft-serve you get at fast food joints, and I may add another egg if I made this specific recipe again. It froze a bit more solid than the last ice cream I made, which had more eggs. Still it didn't freeze TOO solid -- just about as solid as store-bought, really. Thanks for the recipe, it was a great accompaniment to "Bananas Foster II" from this site. I did use naples34102's suggestion to strain my egg mixture and I must say, that was ingenius--I removed a ton of scrambled egg bits by doing that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
this was my first time making ice cream and the texture was beautiful, it was so rich so you only need a little :) my only complaint is that its waaaay too sweet! i recommend cutting the sugar down by half!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
This worked beautifully - but I did change things up. I didn't use the lemon and, like many of the reviewers, I did not whip the cream - in fact, I didn't use cream. I made it lactose-free by using 1 cup 2% lactose-free milk and 2 cups soy "creamer." It ended up a little too sweet; next time I would reduce the sugar by probably a quarter cup because lactose-free milk is a little sweeter to begin with. Also, it's a good idea to temper the egg mixture, just like with a regular custard. In the last couple minutes of churning I added a tablespoon of Irish cream liqueur. yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Very good Vanilla recipe. Tasted like tapioca pudding without the "fish eggs".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
it was disastrous.There were lumps in the mixture. Although being quite an expert in ice creams, i couldn't get it right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
I did not beat the cream, I've heard if you beat the cream too much in ice cream it could actually turn into butter. Also, I used just the yolk. I added Oreo's after processing the ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
Loved the flavor of this recipe! I wish I could make it without all the stirring over the stove :( I prefer the custard style though so I guess I will stir. We had high humidity the day I made this and it seemed to not want to freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mars

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Millsboro, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
I just made this recipe last night with the suggestions by all the other reviewers. I did NOT whip the cream as was directed in the recipe and it turned out great. Just to be fun I added a vanilla bean and all it's scrapings while I was heating the milk and it came out with great vanilla flavor. I also suggest going the traditional method of tempering the eggs before adding them to the heat. Overall a greate vanilla recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wendell, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
This would have been a good recipe but the lemon juice ruined it. It made it sour like yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States