Vanilla Ice Cream I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
I've made this recipe twice now, except used half & half instead of milk. It was WONDERFUL, very creamy and rich. However, both times I got little curds of egg in the batter. Next time I make it, I will try to temper the eggs, rather than cook them at the same time with the sugar & milk, to see if this takes care of that problem. Other recipes I've used always temper the eggs, and I've never had curds with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Milquette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Great flavor but a little too fatty for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
The BEST Vanilla Ice Cream I've ever had! I did modify based on other reviews though. I did NOT whip the heavy cream. Infact I just threw all ingredients (minus the lemon juice, I didn't add that at all) into a huge glass mixing bowl, mixed it up and stuck it in the microwave. Every 2 minutes I stirred it until the temp reached 185 degrees. Let it cool, then mixed it in my Kitchenaid stand mixer Ice Cream Maker attachment. Next time, I am going to add real vanilla seed and change the serving size to 12 to make just a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FamilyBoundMomDotCom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
I love this as a basic custard style vanilla ice cream recipe. I used liquid eggs. Turns out beautiful each time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
10 stars, i do not whip the cream. made this 3 times now. first time used vanilla and added crushed fresh raspberries and chunked hershey bar after churning. 2nd time used raspberry extract/crushed raspberries and the chocolate, this time using vanilla, crushed blackberries and chunked chocolate. raves and request for more more more everytime i make it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Kelley Harris
Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
I love the quick (no-double-boiler) method, but recommend cooking until 180-185 degrees for the best results. AND skip the whipping part! Crazy. I used h/h in place of milk and vanilla beans instead of extract. I sampled it this morning (nice 6am treat!) and loved how creamy and delicious this turned out! My bf prefers this recipe over some others I've tried, as it's not too custardy. --I stirred in some crushed oreos to half the batch...oooh what a treat! (Note: this recipe is nearly identical to Creamy Vanilla Ice Cream.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
The flavor was good. But the texture wasn't like eating ice cream..... more like eating whip topping instead of ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
We LOVED this recipe. This was our first homemade ice cream of the season. The whipping cream makes all the difference in this recipe. It is so creamy and not icey like the homemade ice cream we used to have as a kid. We added a sleave of Thin Mint Girl Scout cookies that we had been saving for months for this very occasion. This recipe will always be our base vanilla ice cream from here on out. Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This ice cream is simply amazing. I followed the advice of several other reviews and did NOT whip the cream. Air is not a good thing in ice cream. I also did not add the lemon juice as suggested, and instead of vanilla extract, I used 1/2 of a split and scraped vanilla bean in the custard mixture. I also added a couple drops of yellow food gel colour to give it an extra rich look (I love using food colour!). The suggestion to use a tablespoon or so of alcohol to prevent hardness probably isn't necesarry but I tried it anyway. I used a 1.5 quart cuisinart ice cream machine and by the time it was finished, it was nearly overflowing with the paddle in. If you have a smaller machine, consider halving the recipe or only freezing half of the mixture at a time. This recipe would also be an excellent base for creating your own flavours of ice cream. A couple handfuls of crushed oreos would be amazing in this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
The texture is just right. I did what other suggested and did not whip the cream. I skipped the lemon juice because I forgot it. I hope to make this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States