Vanilla Ice Cream I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
For the creamiest, most luxurious ice cream, cook this custard in the traditional method, bringing as close to 185 degrees as possible, but do not let it come to a boil. Remove from heat, strain, then add vanilla. Cool in ice bath, then chill mixture several hours or overnight before churning. Almost as good, and certainly a lot easier because you don't have to cook it, is simply to beat the eggs till light and fluffy, about 1-2 minutes, add the sugar, beat another minute, then add to cream mixture with vanilla. Whichever way you choose to do it, don't whip the cream. This will cause a lot of "overrun," or air volume, which you don't want. (This is what the inexpensive brands of ice cream do) I wanted a clean vanilla ice cream flavor, so I eliminated the lemon juice and, since I like my "frozen custard" super rich, I used half and half instead of the milk. So long as the step of whipping the cream is skipped, this is excellent ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2002
i admit i changed this a bit by not whipping the cream at all and just putting it in and mixing it then putting it in the freezer, but when i did this it was just like Haagen-Daazs in my opinion - dense and rich thanks and i hope i didnt upset the creator by modifying it a bit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2001
If you like frozen whipped cream - this is the recipe for you!! Just not my idea of ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
Wonderful! I used skim milk as that was all I had at home and didn't whip the cream before combing everything. This is a nice, smooth ice cream. Doesn't have a filmy, fatty after effect. Also doesn't get as rock hard as other recipes I've tried. The lemon juice cuts the sweet slightly, making it a perfect homemade ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
Very rich and creamy texture. I will definitely use this recipie again. I didn't whip the cream before mixing it together with the egg mixture because I wanted a more dense texture. I was very happy with the results. I also did not have enough lemon juice, so I just left that out. Wonderful recipie!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I agree with the user who said this was like frozen whipped cream. The flavor was fine but the texture was all wrong. It was so light and fluffy, not near rich and creamy enough. I noticed several reviewers said they did not whip the mixture at all. Perhaps I will try it again with out whipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by poppy
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
Creamy texture, good flavour. Do not beat the cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lisbon, Lisboa, Portugal
Living In: Sines, Setúbal, Portugal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
I really like this recipe-itis a good basic ice cream recipe. I made it a few times and I used egg beaters and fat free half and half instead of heavy cream. I did not whip it either. I tried using Splenda instead of sugar, but it was not as good. It was just good to be able to make a fat free ice cream that was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ponchatoula, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Rustburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2003
I compromised and beat my heavy cream a little, but not enough to form peaks. Nice and creamy...a bit like McDonalds soft serve. Only made 1/2 a can in my freezer so I had to ration for the friends I made it for. Got rave reviews from my friends but I think I'll try a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This ice cream is simply amazing. I followed the advice of several other reviews and did NOT whip the cream. Air is not a good thing in ice cream. I also did not add the lemon juice as suggested, and instead of vanilla extract, I used 1/2 of a split and scraped vanilla bean in the custard mixture. I also added a couple drops of yellow food gel colour to give it an extra rich look (I love using food colour!). The suggestion to use a tablespoon or so of alcohol to prevent hardness probably isn't necesarry but I tried it anyway. I used a 1.5 quart cuisinart ice cream machine and by the time it was finished, it was nearly overflowing with the paddle in. If you have a smaller machine, consider halving the recipe or only freezing half of the mixture at a time. This recipe would also be an excellent base for creating your own flavours of ice cream. A couple handfuls of crushed oreos would be amazing in this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

How to Make Ice Cream

See how easy it is to make America’s favorite frozen dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States