Vanilla Ice Cream I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Very easy. Didn't come out custard style though. Came out like frozen whip cream. Still very good. Added strawberries. Made a second batch and substituted whipping cream for pet milk. This time it came out more custard-style. Swirled in caramel and cinnamon pecans. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
My husband absolutely loved this recipe. Left over ice cream that we've made in the past got very hard stored in the freezer. This did not. It was great the next day as well. I want to try it with peanut butter and with pureed strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Saxton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
12 hours ago I was mentally composing my one-star review of this recipe. I messed up the first batch of milk/sugar/egg by adding the eggs last after the milk and sugar were already thoroughly mixed. I could never get the egg to mix in properly and as the heat came on it scrambled some. Dumped it out. Began again. The next batch, rather than taking the 10-20 minutes the recipe describes to thicken, well, it never really got very thick frankly. Another reviewer mentioned getting it to around 180 degrees and I was trying for that. After 35 minutes when it was still 145 degrees and quite thin I gave up because it was past midnight and I had to go to bed. It was not very thick and custardy and it was a lumpy mess. But I strained it and put it in a bowl to chill overnight, having serious doubts about its salvageability. In the a.m. I put the cream and vanilla (didn't use the lemon) in a big bowl. Since I felt I had strained out a pretty big portion of the milk/sugar/egg mixture I only used 1 1/2 cups of cream and 1 teaspoon of vanilla. I wisked the cream for a minute but not long enough to seriously aerate it as other reviewers said that would make the texture weird. I poured it into the ice cream maker and kept getting ready for work. In the last few minutes I chopped up some frozen cherries and threw in about 1/2 a cup of them plus about 1/2 cup of chocolate chunks. The texture seemed right. I was becoming hopefully that it wasn't a total loss but still swearing to never us
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
Yesterday was my first time to try making a traditional ice cream which includes egg. And the result was great if we compare it by the no egg ice cream. Much creamy and testy mmmm Try making it with crash oreo and add it after 15 minuets in your ice cream maker. enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by poppy
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
Creamy texture, good flavour. Do not beat the cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lisbon, Lisboa, Portugal
Living In: Sines, Setúbal, Portugal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
For the creamiest, most luxurious ice cream, cook this custard in the traditional method, bringing as close to 185 degrees as possible, but do not let it come to a boil. Remove from heat, strain, then add vanilla. Cool in ice bath, then chill mixture several hours or overnight before churning. Almost as good, and certainly a lot easier because you don't have to cook it, is simply to beat the eggs till light and fluffy, about 1-2 minutes, add the sugar, beat another minute, then add to cream mixture with vanilla. Whichever way you choose to do it, don't whip the cream. This will cause a lot of "overrun," or air volume, which you don't want. (This is what the inexpensive brands of ice cream do) I wanted a clean vanilla ice cream flavor, so I eliminated the lemon juice and, since I like my "frozen custard" super rich, I used half and half instead of the milk. So long as the step of whipping the cream is skipped, this is excellent ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
This is the best, creamiest, vanilla-custard ice cream I have EVER had. Seriously. I'm known as "The Ice Cream Maker" by all my friends and family now thanks to this... :-D Amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I agree with the user who said this was like frozen whipped cream. The flavor was fine but the texture was all wrong. It was so light and fluffy, not near rich and creamy enough. I noticed several reviewers said they did not whip the mixture at all. Perhaps I will try it again with out whipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
It was yummy!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
Wonderful! I used skim milk as that was all I had at home and didn't whip the cream before combing everything. This is a nice, smooth ice cream. Doesn't have a filmy, fatty after effect. Also doesn't get as rock hard as other recipes I've tried. The lemon juice cuts the sweet slightly, making it a perfect homemade ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States