Vanilla Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
We make this recipe at least once a week in the summer. To reduce the fat a little we use all half and half. We vary the flavor by stirring in espresso powder & nutella. It also tastes great with fresh raspberries or peaches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Delicious!!! fresh and fluffy in my cuisinart ice cream maker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Came out tasty, but I would have liked the texture to have been a bit firmer. Would make again for an easy, no cook method. Everyone else said they liked it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laurita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Reducing the sugar to ½C. improves the texture, increases the overrun to about 50%, and kills the over-sweet after taste. Unlike others, I found the recipe's vanilla amount to be perfect once the amount of sugar was reduced. There were reviewer complaints about a buttery or butterfat taste. I believe that to be due to trying to dissolve all the sugar without using an ice bath to keep the cream chilled. The room temperature and the natural temperature rise due to stirring or whisking would warm the cream enough that they were churning butter. It has happened to me in the past, and is a nasty surprise when butter is not the goal. Try whisking the sugar into the half-and-half, then stirring in the cream. This recipe is what ice cream is all about. Mmmm good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
212 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
For first time tried this fab receipe, was so easy and tasted just like the Italian home made ice-cream we has on the island off Syros in Greece, have passed it on to many freinds, thanks for making memorys off a fantastic holiday come flooding back into our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
This recipe was very good, I'm use to using eggs in my ice cream so was anxious to try. Used my kitchenaid and it worked great. I used pure vanilla, and it was to strong for me, so next time will cut it back or maybe try almond ext. I also used 3 cups of whipping cream and 1 cup 2% milk since I didn't have half and half, so it was very creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
Absolutely delicious! One member commented that this ice cream is not for those watching their weight. I used fat free half & half, which helps a little. No one could tell the difference. It was just a creamy and easy to make. This is my Number 1 ice cream recipe that I plan to make over and over and over! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
The best home made ice cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wilfeeray

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PrincessKiwi07
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
Super easy, and tastes great. This recipe is for anyone who is making homemade ice cream for the first time or someone who just doesn't want to be bothered with the eggs. The only thing I'll do different next time is double the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
easy like Sunday morning... Well so far any way I have yet to put it in the machine waiting for my three hour chill time. But the taste is great like Dairy Queen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

How to Make Ice Cream

See how easy it is to make America’s favorite frozen dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States